RAM RAM RAM lol - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2007, 04:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

Yeah but that's with AMD processors. With the core architecture it's bandwidth that is important
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 05:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

W/e, its still great memory, only problem is im board limited so I wasnt able to push past 420 fsb.

Plus, how can you deny its secksyness?


__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 08:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

looking sthuper sthexy
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 09:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

Mushkin is good ram but unless you can find some that will do DDR2-1000 at 4-4-4-12 timings less than around 90 bucks, not counting the MIR; Ballistix is better.

OCZ ram is eh....ok but too expensive for it's performance. Crucial wipes the floor with just about every stick of ram in it's price range no questions.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

ok, lets say, for the purpose of this topic, that I do not have a spending limit on RAM alone... the other stuff I'm dealing with, I have the EVGA 680i board. I'm looking for the best ram. (still reading about the 1T and 2T, haven't figured out what it is yet though)
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

why??? Tell me why you want to WASTE so much more money than you have to. There is really no DDr2 ram worth buying over the Ballistix....why are you set on spending double the money for maybe 5% extra performance.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

Money can always be wasted on an extra couple of sticks of Ballistix....I like the way Mushkin RAM looks, but Sora's right about going with the Ballistix. Good overclockers while keeping tight timings.
__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 10:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

I wasn't specifying mushkin or anything else. but I have a question, what about the crucial ballistix tracer? the link I clicked on has the tracer on top of everything. I'm going to have the qx6600, and someone mentioned that that was with the amd... is it going to prove different with an intel?
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

The Ballistix Tracers just really seem to give you LED's and different looking heatspreader. Twenty extra bucks or so, but that twenty can be better spent on another component, of course, just my opinion.
__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: RAM RAM RAM lol

i have ballistix. no problems here

i put them at 5-5-5-15-2T, and the rest on auto. they are running at DDR2-1000 right now. if i push them to DDR2-1200 i will get a BSOD during hardcore gaming.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

« My CPU. | Raid »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
Ram Issue, Compaq 700 series SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-30-2007 11:10 PM
1.5gb vs 2gb ram dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-21-2007 05:03 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.