Ram questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2005, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Default Ram questions

What diffrence does timing make on RAM?

To run dual channel do you need to buy the pairs that come together 512 x 2 or can you buy them indiviually?

Do heat spreaders make any diffrence if your not OCing?

Cas Latency, What is it and do I need to care?
__________________

souschef is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The lower the number the faster it will go. Its not a lot of performance but AMDs take advantage of it better than Intel.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Better if you buy pairs they need to be very similar same timings I think. And i doubt heat spreaders make a huge difference Iv never had to use them. I think the cas latency is more important than the mhz speed maybe im wrong but id rather go with RAM with low timings than ones with higher mhz.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Default

So, if I get one 512 chip and then buy the same make/model 512 chip again at a later date. Is that just as good as getting the package dual RAM deals?

I have some extra money to buy one now.
I just don't know if I should get it, or wait for my next pay day then get the package deal.
souschef is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

RAM does not run dual channel, the way you install it on a compatible motherboard decides if it runs in dual channel. They call it a "dual channel kit" because its 2 of the same. Install them on a motherboard without dual channel support and they will work just fine, It just wont be accessed in dual channel. got me?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Default

Yeah I think I got now. I'll get one now and see about the other later.
souschef is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What is your cost budget for memory?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Default

I was thinking of getting this patriot "extreme performance" PC 3200. It is $39.50 on newegg after rebate. It has gotten good reviews.

I could spend about $20 more if it would be worth it, but my wallet is getting light enough this time a year.
__________________

souschef is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.