Ram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default Ram Question

You no how a motherboard supports, well for the DFI Ultra-D i think the highest is PC3200, if i get a PC4000, will it work? how will it work?
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

technically no mobo offically supports over pc3200, if youll put pc4000 it wont give any better performance then pc3200 as it will run as pc3200 unless youll overclock (ddr over pc3200 is just for overclock headroom a person that dont do overclocking should just get a pc3200)
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

it will work, i believe. however, the motherboard will just automatically "underclock" the ram to pc3200 speeds
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

but i can still overclock it right? cause i dun wanna screw up my first build.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

course you an OC it. PC4000 just gives you more room to work with.

btw, ur sig's wierd. PC-3200 DDR500 ram?? lol
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

He probably means that it's standardly DDR 400 memory OC'd to DDR 500 speeds I'm guessin ...
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

DFI is made for OC. The mobo will downclock it to PC3200, the PC4000 rating is from the ram manufacturers telling you what its guaranteed and stock operating speed is, it can be OC'd faster.
adam02 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 08:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k so, yea im gonna edit my sig. So when i put in the PC 4000, it will de downclocked to PC 3200 speeds, but then when i start to OC my hardware i can bring it back up right? is that how it works?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 08:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

basically, yes. the PC4000 is GUARANTEED to run at those speeds, so that is why they give you more headroom than PC3200
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 08:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i c....ok then, thanx guys.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.