RAM Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2007, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default RAM Question...

When I do my first build come Jan. should I go with 2gigs and 32-bit, or 4gigs and 64-bit? Will I notice any difference moving into 64-bit if I do so? Also, would 4gigs work better as 4x1 or 2x2? Budget might keep me at 2gigs, but just in case it can be squeezed in?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: RAM Question...

64-bit will increase your speed some, I don't know for a fact, just what I've heard here. i will be getting the 64-bit but only 2 gig ram for now. 64 will allow me (and you) to upgrade to more ram later. more ram=better responsiveness later down the road!
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere in the eastern part of the United States.
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM Question...

Looking at it that way you have a darn good point. Will 2gigs hold just fine with 64-bit?
__________________
Q6600 Stock
(Thanks HP for Locking my MB. You're the Best!)
3GB Cheap DDR2533 PC2 4200
8600 GTS
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 400GB
XFI Xtrememusic
20'' HPw2007
mediocremathmajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: RAM Question...

that, my friend, is best answered by someone else... and a good q from me as well lol. I'll do some research and see if I can come up with the answer myself
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: RAM Question...

System requirements for Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
we in the good I'd say go for it!!
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: RAM Question...

i wouldnt get 64bit because ive heard of some system errors and crashes mainly with pc games, if you dont game then i would
amyjones09 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: RAM Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by amyjones09 View Post
i wouldnt get 64bit because ive heard of some system errors and crashes mainly with pc games, if you dont game then i would
I've never had any cause of 64bit. If anything it should be more stable. There have been some driver issues in the past, however, as more people are moving too it manufacturers are getting up to speed now. Even 64bit graphics drivers are coming out about the same time as the 32bits.

64bit seems very good to me. I really dont know why you would go 32 bit now, as the future is quite obviously 64bit and its becoming more and more common. Also 4GBs is great, although i would probably suggest 4x1Gb as i have heard the 2GB sticks do not overclock well.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAM Question...

64bit Vista doesn't use more RAM, it just supports more of it..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: RAM Question...

4Gigs is useless junk at the moment, unless you intend on playing CoD4 were the reccomended is 2GB for Vista... 4 gigs may see a tiny improvement. But 4Gigs is great for bragging
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: RAM Question...

I love bragging, just need a system to brag about first *waits till crimbo..*
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM
Quick Question...RAM SYL\X/3K New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-12-2007 06:39 AM
Computer won't boot + RAM question. charlesviper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-06-2007 04:59 AM
Ram Compatibility question turnip System Upgrades 4 09-15-2007 12:13 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.