ram and processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2006, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Default ram and processor

im quite new to this i have to questions
1 when buying ram what should i look out for like speed mand stuff like that or if you could tell me what ram i need to play battlefifled 2 and fear type name or just post a link to that site where u found it

2 my second question is i am buying a new motherborad its a
(gigabyte k8n pro sli)
the processor i have is a amd sempron 2800
__________________

JOHNMAN is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Default

sorry missed this bit out will that processor work with that motherborad
__________________

JOHNMAN is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Any ram would work. Just make sure its the right number of pins and type.

Your processor as long as its the same socket as your motherboard, s939, then it will be fine
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

whats your budget for ram? and i would highyl suggest investing in a new video card as well if you have a 5200 fx
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

You will probably need 2 gb ram (value ram should be fine) to play Fear and a much better gfx card.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k u need 2GB ram, you need a new mobo, and make sure the 2 are compatible ( cpu and mobo) and u will need a better graphics card, the 6600 is great for now.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Default

yer im getting a bfg gerforce 7600 thanks for the advice guys
__________________

JOHNMAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.