ram problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2009, 07:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Penna.
Posts: 12
Default Re: ram problems

I've had a lot of trouble running those boards at 1066 very ram picky if it's stable at 800 set the voltage down to 1.9v and run it at 800 you will not see a lot of difference.
__________________

Wrench is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 05:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Penna.
Posts: 12
Default Re: ram problems

Try running the sticks on separate channels it is not unusual to see AMD chips not run 1066 with 2 sticks on the same channel.
__________________

Wrench is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 05:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: ram problems

Then it would not be dual channel, and therefore slower
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 07:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Penna.
Posts: 12
Default Re: ram problems

That's right that is why it's better to run it at 800 then 1066.
Wrench is offline  
Old 05-21-2009, 11:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: ram problems

unless it was dual and 1066, which it freakin should be
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 01:23 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: ram problems

I have never heard of AMD chips having trouble running dual channel 1066mhz. Whats your experiencing should be an isolated problem. Try look for a bios update. Also post a SS of your cpu-z now before your system crashes. If this ram isnt stable at 2.1v, it could be faulty.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 02:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: ram problems

Play nice people.

The only time I've heard of AMD having problems with 1066 RAM is with older processors. It was between AM2 and AM2+ I believe. You shouldn't have any issues running it at 1066.

I would personally return/RMA the RAM. Return if you can, and get a better kit, maybe PI Black 1066's.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 09:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: ram problems

i would stick to ddr800 and 4-4-4-12, will give you better performance with amd.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 09:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: ram problems

^^ To each their own, my PI Black 800's are pretty nice too.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 08:49 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: ram problems

Bah, a 266 increase is not worth the hassle of that to me. i'd have nothing to put in for new ram anyways
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM
INstalling RAM Problems purveyor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-14-2009 11:16 PM
pagefile on a ram disk? White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-17-2008 03:27 PM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.