RAM preference - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2009, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Lightbulb RAM preference

Just curious, would you pick Corsair or Kingston HyperX, given the choice. 6gig 1600
__________________

eesotereh is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: RAM preference

Gskil
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 09:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: RAM preference

Anybody with real feedback?

Interestingly enough, pchardware had a shootout between the hyperx and the dominator and the hyperx did just as good or better. Of course i was more interested in hyperx vs. the nondominator corsair 1600 DDr3
eesotereh is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,775
Default Re: RAM preference

I would pick the Corsair, simply because I have always used Corsair and know it to be very high quality. Kingston used to be the gold standard in memory (pre-2006), but now other companies such as OCZ, G.Skill and Corsair have taken over.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now  
Old 08-07-2009, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: RAM preference

TBH, its all pretty much they same. I have ran just about every brand of memory and never had any issue with any. I run corsair 1600 and patriot 1600 right now. Still i prefer OCZ when given the choice.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: RAM preference

Given a choice between just those 2 I would go with the Corsair. But I'm currently using OCZ in both of my i7 pc's and I was using Patriot in my old QX9650 pc.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: RAM preference

I've been running Corsair Dominator and OCZ Reaper 1066 @ 8g for a while now with no issues.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 04:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: RAM preference

Hmm, I suppose at the higher end of things they all pretty much are equal huh. Or at least these aforementioned brands
eesotereh is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: RAM preference

You get what you pay for most of the times. If you want the best expect to pay a premium for it thou.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-09-2009, 09:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: RAM preference

I am running Dominators in my machine now, and Reapers in my HTPC. Both are great brands. I too prefer OCZ. Kingston is great memory and can definitely hold it's own with the other brands, it just tends to be a little more money for what you get.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Upgrade Problem nsaul1211 System Upgrades 6 07-26-2009 04:33 PM
RAM Question dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-04-2009 10:20 AM
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.