RAM latency - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 115
Default RAM latency

is the latency like 2-2-2-5 the only thing you should look for when buying fast RAM for gaming and do you want all of the numbers to be as low as possible? so a PC3200 2-2-2-5 is faster than a PC4400 3-4-3-6?
by the way what RAM would you recommend for gaming with an athlon and a DFI mobo without overclocking but with 2x1024 dual setup?
__________________

[SF]MKM is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

well that isn't always true, you want timings to be as low as they can get, ...but as the pc numbers go up, the latency timings will too.

i don't really think that was very clear though.
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 115
Default

yes, I've noticed that PC4000 don't have as low timings as the PC3200 but the higher PC, the higher is the Mhz so what i'm asking is if the timings are the only thing to look for or can a higher Mhz module be as good as a PC3200 one while having higher timings, else what the **** is the point of making PC4400,s and inventing even higher?
[SF]MKM is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

honestly i don't know, the first thing you have to find out is what is the highest pc your mobo can handle.

and pretty much it's the lowest timinings you can find. 2-2-2-5 is a really good time for pc3200
compy is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Find your highest pc, then find the lowest latency in that pc.

Thats the RAM you should use.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.