ram issues - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2007, 09:15 PM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

The AMD X3800? I would guess that it would be around hrmm...like having 2 3.8ghz P4's I believe. Yea you are going to need a new mobo for even a C2D, but the good thing is the AMD mobo's are a good bit cheaper than the C2D which makes AMD an overall cheaper way to go. In the end any Dual Core like that will be MUCH faster than a 3.0ghz P4.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

well can i see what mobo i have and then mb i wont need a new one lol cuase this is fairly new computer
__________________

holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You might have an 945 or 944 chipset which will allow the C2D's. If they will support the Core 2's then that will end up being the cheaper way to go. Thing is if that was a pre-made computer like a Dell or a Comapw then that motherboard won't overclock anyway. So I suggest that you just get a new X2 3800 and a mobo for around 180 later on.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

i got it from ibuypower.com so should be all good mb lol im downloadin cpu-z t osee wat mobo i have
holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:27 PM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

If you got it from ibuypower then thats good, yes you will need to tell me what mobo you have before I can tell you if it will support a Core 2 Duo.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:29 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

k im kinda leaning more toward that amd tho cuase of money but u said its stillm uch better then my curretn p4 3.0 right
holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

First off....P4's were a joke compared to Athlon 64's. So yes an X2 will destroy a P4 in every way. You will notice quite a difference.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:31 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

k 1 sec im doin xpu thing now to see my mobo
holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:34 PM   #29 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

alright yea...that'll be the deciding facotr
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:34 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

lol
__________________

holdenstern is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.