ram issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2007, 08:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea you can get a single gig now if you have the spots, nothing is stopping you. 2 gigs will be plenty enough though. BUT I suggest you get an E4300 so you will be able to overclock to around 3.0ghz even if your ram never went up. This is becuase the E4300 is almost identical in power but it uses 200x9=1.8ghz while the E6300 uses 266x7=1.86ghz

You are able to hit higher clocks in overclocking with cheaper RAM. PLus it's a few bucks cheaper than the E6300, but not much yet.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

k ill go with 1 gig and mb that 4300 how hard is it to install


also what amd are good that are as good as the e6300 or 4300 for mb a lil less and would u suggest intel or amd
__________________

holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

RAM is SIMPLE. CPU chips are also very simple as long as you look at the markings.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

wat about amd srry for the bbig trouble im putin u thru but im a noob with this stuff
holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 08:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

an AMD X2? They can be worth the money becuase the models are much cheaper for the power. At stock speeds the X2's are worth the money for how much they cost but once they are both overclocked, an X2 can't keep up with a C2D very well.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

well im not good at overclocking and probobly wont do much so i am kinda tight on budget wat would be a good amd aournd the performance of the 6300/4300 i hear amd is good for gaming for less money
holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Overclocking is simple and safe. For the same amount of cash after overclocking, no AMD X2 can compete with a C2D. The Core 2 Duo's are the best gaming CPU out right now. Although an AMD X2 3600 or X2 3800 are pretty cheap, Dual Core and still offer great gaming opportunities if you are on a budget. They also have cheaper Mobo's.
If you'r on a tight budget then an X3600 or an X3800 might be good for you. Still though an E4300 will destroy them by a fair margin after overclocking for like 45 bucks more.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103733


wold taht work
holdenstern is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

That is a great entry Dual Core for the money, Like I said the Core 2's are better for the money but on a tight budget that CPU will work excellent for you. You will also need a new mobo though.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Default

... dang i didnt no that is therre any otehr amd were i would not need a new mobo thats around that performance and price and also wat is that equivilent to a p4 3.0 and again ty for ur help
__________________

holdenstern is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.