RAM increase? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 08:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default RAM increase?

Well I recently upgraded the graphics card, now I was wondering should i get some more RAM? I currently own 2 sticks of Kingston 512mb PC3200 running in dual channel.....I play games such as WoW, a bit of Football Manager 2006, some Winter Assault, and others, should I go for 4 sticks of 512mb of Kingston for 2GB, since i max out WoW and it sometimes has lag but nothing serious i guess........

I've heard though that 2 sticks could be detrimental and as I intend on getting a new computer next year, around the middle of year.....what do you guys think i should do?
__________________

__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

more than 1GB wont bring any difference, unless you are into Video/Audio encoding. which I am sure you wont be. save money!
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

I suspected as much, luckily I didn't do it back when I had the cash....it's niec to stop and think before you buy........well only one upgrade left for my aging computer, a x-fi xtrememusic sound card.
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

I heard that if you don't OC, then you could save money by buying value RAM.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.