RAM help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2008, 07:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default RAM help

Hi everyone and thanks for looking, i just been given a Asus Striker Extreme II, and i have a Core 2 Duo E6850 (3.00GHz,1333FSB,L2:4MB,rev.G0), but i have no DDR3 ram, but my confusion is that does the speed of the ram have to match the processor i.e. the 1333FSB, sorry if its a stupid question? thanks
__________________

championz is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: RAM help

It shouldn't matter, you can use any RAM speed up to the speed of the processor if the mobo supports it. The faster the RAM speed the better though.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM help

so can i use a ram speed of 1600?
championz is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: RAM help

i thought the striker extreme II would only use ddr3? i can most definitely be wrong.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: RAM help

Yes the Striker Extreme II only supports DDR3.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 03:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: RAM help

If your board supports 1600 then yes you can run it
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM help

thanks for the help! it does just arrived today and works.
__________________

championz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.