RAM difference? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default RAM difference?

I have two Ultra 512MB PC3200 in my current computer. My friend keeps telling me that it is REALLY SLOW ram and that there other companies that would make my computer faster. Now I never really heard of RAM companies (Latency) making a big difference in computer performance.

He listed me a company he says is really good, and gave me a link of two choices. One was 2 sticks of 512, and the other was 2 sticks of 1GB, both are dual channel. The (2 x 1GB) has a slower speed, but it has 2GBs.... Anyways I've been thinking of getting the (2 x 1GB).

OK, so here is my question. Would the (2 x 1GB) really give my computer a performance boost? Taking in fact just the speed, not that I have an extra GB. So the speed of 2-3-2-5 compared to my current Ultra ram, would that give me more performance? Would it be worth the money to upgrade to that?

I know for a fact I'm getting a AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ and he also said the new memory would work even faster with that CPU.


Computer Spec:
RAM - 1GB RAM (2x Ultra)
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 bit, 3400+
VIDEO - Leadtek Geforce 6800 GT 256MB (AGP)
MOBO - Asus A8V Deluxe
__________________

krum is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Not worth it at all - UNLESS you're overclocking.
The difference is not justified given the price.
Yes, it will increase performance but not as much as much as putting it into a different component.
I would buy a 7800GT or faster processor with that money.
If you plan on overclocking, get the good ram and buy a XP 90 with 92mm panaflo.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

"Not worth it at all - UNLESS you're overclocking."

So if I buy the RAM and overclock it, it will be worth the price? I've never overclocked RAM before, only the Videocard. I was wondering how much you can overclock the RAM if I get it, and how much extra performance you get out of overclocking the ram.
krum is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

250+ (remember to have some form of active cooling for the RAM and a XP 90 for the CPU)
turtile is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

So it would be worth getting then, if overclocked? And how do you get the RAM cooled? Just have the casing with it?
krum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.