Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2008, 04:19 PM   #41 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

But what else is better, that's under $100
__________________

1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 04:40 PM   #42 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Well these are supposed to be quite good, and are only 59 after rebate
Newegg.com - mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:18 PM   #43 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Is that timing good? And why shouldn't I get 8500 RAM?
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:19 PM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

yeah the timings are good....and there's no reason you shouldn't get 8500 ram..there's just not much difference between the two, especially if you are overclocking.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 05:42 PM   #45 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Oh.. so is there anything that's not red? lol..
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 06:45 PM   #46 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Why does the RAM color matter?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 07:03 PM   #47 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

I might buy a window for my CM 690! :3
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 07:10 PM   #48 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
cool. My 4x1gb OCZ SLI 8500s at 1161mhz 5,5,5,15 2.14V get:

Superpi 1m: 10.609s

Read: 9477
Write: 9880
Copy:9587
Latency: 52.3ns

That's 466FSB and PL 8
im running 450 FSB PL 8. dont you have an e8500? that would make up a lot of the difference if your running 4.4ghz to my 3.6ghz.
you have much better latency than me though.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 07:14 PM   #49 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
im running 450 FSB PL 8. dont you have an e8500? that would make up a lot of the difference if your running 4.4ghz to my 3.6ghz.
you have much better latency than me though.
Rofl, your QuadcoreOCed more than your e8500?!
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 07:16 PM   #50 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

no....guru's dual runs 4.4 my quad runs 3.6 everyday, 3.75 benchmark.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32Bit/64Bit RAM Question Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 9 10-19-2008 02:38 PM
Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :( JustinTime91 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-30-2008 05:02 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
Different brand ram in different channels ttoadish New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-21-2008 05:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.