Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2008, 01:19 AM   #21 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Yep, find a good set of low latency ddr2 800. My reapers run 4-4-4-12 at 2.1v.
I have a good ddr2 800 set that runs at 4-4-4-12 at 2.1 :P the G.skill I have right now...problem is another 2 gigs cost another 100
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 02:01 AM   #22 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

5-5-5-15 vs 5-5-5-18 = exactly no difference that you will ever notice/see/touch/smell.
the reapers will run 1066 at 4-4-4-12. mine do anyway.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 06:21 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
hmm well since I have a q6600 and the max overclock is 3.6 ghz, which equates to 400 fsb, I guess I won't need the 1066 sticks then right? ( for all intensive purposes I consider the max OC to be 3.6 and even that requires a lot )
well get ddr880 and ull be 1:1
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 09:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
5-5-5-15 vs 5-5-5-18 = exactly no difference that you will ever notice/see/touch/smell.
the reapers will run 1066 at 4-4-4-12. mine do anyway.
Do you mind running an everest mem/cache test at those settings? 1066 4,4,4,12 is impressive
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:24 AM   #25 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Ok, what's better?

4-4-4-12 @ 1066
OR
5-5-5-15 @ 1066
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:25 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

4,4,4,12 of course
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:26 AM   #27 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

4-4-4-12 @ 1066 is better.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:35 AM   #28 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Why? What's the best 6400 RAM:? Is it this?

Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB &#40;2 x 2GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 &#40;PC2 6400&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:42 AM   #29 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

^^ Those are certainly good and I would say they are one of the best.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 11:51 AM   #30 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ram Corsiar vs OCZ, need a decision

Is that why they're so expensive? Would it OC to 1200?
__________________

1337_JohnN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32Bit/64Bit RAM Question Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 9 10-19-2008 02:38 PM
Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :( JustinTime91 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-30-2008 05:02 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
Different brand ram in different channels ttoadish New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-21-2008 05:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.