RAM Compatablity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 72
Default RAM Compatablity

I already have some crap no name 512mb pc2700 RAM, but now i want to get more RAM. I have a fairly low budget so i saw this RAM at a store near my house for $69.99 cdn. I have a SiS chipset and my motherboard supports pc2700. The ram is ddr pc3200. So what would happen if i got the ram? would it be ok?

http://www.factorydirect.ca
__________________

owenma435 is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

It would work, it would just downclock itself to PC2700.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ditto the previous post. there is no real difference between the ram other than the 3200 is rated to run at a higher maximum frequency, so it will just run at a lower frequency
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.