Ram Boost....... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 03:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Ram-IS-Ram
Only difference is the size and the cost.
"If there the same get the cheaper 1"
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 03:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Any RAM is "gaming" RAM. They might market certain RAM as "gaming grade" RAM like the XMS was but there is no performance boost. The only time RAM makes a difference is how overclockable it is. It's just like the RAM that at a "SLI certified" sticker on it when all RAM works fine. It's just a way to make you spend more money. I would go for OCZ, G. Skill, Mushkin, Patriot and Corsair (for valueRAM).

The difference between valueram and more expensive ram is that the more expensive ram overclocks better then valueram.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 03:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

The OCZ i listed is a great deal. With the mail-in rebate, it costs the same as valueRAM, but it has much better timings and can overclock better. Thats the one I would go with.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Not Trying to Hijack your thread Ton I just have a question and didn't want to clutter with a new post when this one is about the same thing pretty much. When overclocking is it better to have Expensive PC 3200 Ram or PC 4000 Ram?
TheKid06 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

So, what kind of timings should I be looking for when shopping for ram?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
Ram-IS-Ram
Only difference is the size and the cost.
"If there the same get the cheaper 1"
Performance: Cheap RAM = Expensive RAM
Oveclockability: Expensive RAM > Cheap RAM


http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=77323
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TonCrafter
So, what kind of timings should I be looking for when shopping for ram?
If you want the best, then for 1GB kits, you want 2-2-2-5. For 2GB kits, the best is 2-3-2-5. However, any with 2GB kits with 2-3-3-8 or so should be pretty good too. The first number (CAS latency) is really the most "important" of them. Ususally with a CAS of 2 or 2.5 you will get some good or decent timings. I would stay away from CAS greater than 3. *Note: this only applies to "expensive, overclocking RAM* With ValueRAM, the timings aren't important, just the price.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

So, it's ok to throw a set of these into my stock system then?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Those are some pretty good sticks of RAM, overclocking or not.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

For gaming, I think that in most situations 2x512Mb is about the same as 4x512Mb (there is some performance jump, but not enough to make it worth your $60-100), but 2x1Gb > both setups.

The four DIMMs just runs slow in most modern games, especially BF2.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.