Is Ram All That Important? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 05:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Is Ram All That Important?

Ok im building a $2000 gaming rig and so far ive got most of everything nailed down except my ram..

Ive never really had nice "gaming ram" ive always had DDR and its always been cheap.

I will be upgrading to DDR2 800 because I am planning on getting the EVGA 680i motherboard coupled with the C2D e6000

Now heres the question, when buying ram with better timings and "ECC".... is it worth it, whats the difference?

Will it make my fps go up noticeably or will it just make my games load slightly faster?

Ive never seen a review on ram showing fps difference in games so im not sure what the advantedge is about getting expensive ram

Thanks,
Alexsabree
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i dont THINK it will increase your fps, at least noticeably. programs will possibly load faster.
as far as i know, the benefit of expensive ram is the overclocking ability.
ie, i can run my xms @ 440mhz 4-4-4-12 (and it is still possible to raise frequency more and still maintain the timings)
so, if i had cheap ram, i would (probably) not be able to run it at that high, or higher, frequency without loosening the timings to 5-5-5-15 or 18.
now with that moster of an overclocking cpu, i don't think you have to get like the "best ram ever made", unless you want to seriously surpass its (the ram's) rated speed. you can get some decent ddr2-800 and set your divider at 1:1, put your fsb to 400+ (which i believe it will reach easily) and your ram will run at its rated speed, no problem. if you are going to try to surpass 400+ on fsb and still try to maintain the 1:1 ratio, then i would suggest, yes, some GOOD overclocking ram. i don't have a c2d, but from what i have heard, the higher end crucial or geil work really well with them.
i love my corsair xms, and would normally suggest it...but i have read it has problems with the 680i board.
good luck!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 03:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

so their really is no point in buying really good ram? it only makes the cpu perform better?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I don't believe it makes much of a difference until you really get into overclokcing as you've got to have good ram to do that. I don't overclock so I just buy a good stick off of the motherboard's approved memory list. Just make sure you do that to ensure it's a good brand and is support by the motherboard's manufacturer for use.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 07:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^agree^^
i think if you buy some decent ddr2-800 you will be okay for general use and some moderate overclocking.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 08:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

is this good?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231087
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Go Corsair. Lifetime warranty. JHowever for the huge upgrade from that it'll cost you almost $400
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Alexsabree, clean out the PM box man, I was going to reply to the PM 5 minutes after I received it, but your box was full.

As for the memory, the timings don't affect performance very much, although the effect is there. If I were to guess, I would say that the difference between 4-4-4-12 and 5-5-5-15 would be around 20Mhz from the memory. So when your memory is going to go from a stock of 266Mhz up to it's spec. of 400Mhz, the timings would be worth about 1/6 of the performance increase. You decide if that's too much, or too little. Although it may just be a moot point for you, seeing as you're never going to run your memory at over it's spec. of 400Mhz (4.5Ghz E6600, anyone??). The G.Skill you picked is great, its cheap memory with good 4-4-4-12 timings.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya that g skill memory is great, if i ever do get a e6300 soon. Thats is the ram I am planning on getting.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 06:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Wow that G Skill memory looks good, excellent price on it, too.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.