........(ram) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default ........(ram)

In my never ending quest to bombard you all with RAM questions, I bring you my latest:

Would 2GB dual channel DDR500 (PC4000) provide significant gains over 2GB dual channel DDR400 (PC 3200)?

Also, would it be compatible with my P4 system which is currently using 1GB dual channel DDR400?

And, would it be compatible when I eventually get a new mobo (939) and an AMD X2 CPU?

Any help appreciated.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 02:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

what is the max bus speed on your mobo and processor?

even if your motherboard and processor can't utilize the full speed of the ram. as long as it's the same # of pins you should be able to use it at 3200 speed and transfer it into a new board when you upgrade later.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Should work fine for P4 and 939 as long as the P4 DDR not DDR2. You won't notice a gain in performance though. It would give you some headroom in OCing.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

I don't plan to OC it, would I be better off just saving the money and getting DDR400?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You would have to OC the CPU to make the RAM run at DDR500, in which case it would be worth it.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 10:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
I don't plan to OC it, would I be better off just saving the money and getting DDR400?
Yup, just get some cheap stuff with good timeings.
BColes is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

I'll probably go with the corsair value DDR400 as attempts at OCing my CPU have been met with failure.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.