RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 02:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results...

Okay, i upgraded my RAM from 2Gb to 4Gb but windows only shows 3Gb and BIOS does also too, not sure if im looking at the right one on the bios but hm..... heres the results...

2GB @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15





3GB @800MHz 5-5-5-15




Is it worth the drop of performance? or is it because it only shows 3gb and one of the ram is not running in Dual Channel? Not sure how to fix this to show 4GB. Help dont want to flash bios, the mobo should be able to handle 8gb it says on it without having to flash bios or what not.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results...

can you not run it all at 1000mhz?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results...

I thought Ram runs at the lowest performing module(s). So wouldn't having one not be in dual channel force the others to run that way as well?
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results...

Okay problem solved. i got it to read 4gb i just had to enable something in the BIOS called "Memory Remap" or something like that. Now Vista is reading 4GB woot woot!!!

Also, no i cant run it at 1000MHz with 5-5-5-15 or 5-5-5-18 timings because the RAM Corsair i just got today is rated at 800MHz with timing of 5-5-5-12 so it might run at 1000MHz at 6-6-6-18 not so sure havent tried yet.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results...

grats
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: RAM 3Gb vs 2Gb Benchmark Results...

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
grats
thanks hehe i didnt think this would work since they are different brand and all that stuff but on cpu-z it says they are running in dual channel so it probably worked

Anyway.......... um....... my boot up time is not running any faster, i still get 16 passes of those progress bar hehe not sure if adding more ram was gonna solve it lolz

Also i was thinking of getting a dedicated sound card but then none of them have an optical out, the regular optical cable out. but it has optical 3.5mm out but i dont know where to get a cable that converts a 3.5mm to optical. I saw it online but dont want to go through all that hassle and ordering it. adding a soundcard (dedicated) should increase mybootup time cuz the stupid asus sound drivers that came with my mobo increases the bootup time from 4 passses to 16 passes
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory and Cache Benchmark.... pinoy3000 Overclocking and Modding 0 08-27-2007 01:22 PM
Whats your 3d Benchmark results? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 106 07-12-2007 10:01 AM
Please read, finally got a benchmark out ( Status on my overheating gtx ) Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-22-2007 10:26 AM
Benchmark Results pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 06-07-2007 02:44 PM
online stores/ads in search results raverx3m Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 06-05-2007 09:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.