RAM - 2gb vs 4gb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2008, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Default RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

I was going to get just one of these Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
but I soon realized that getting 2 of these will make 4 gb (2+2=4 duh)
Is this a good decision?
These are only 20 dollars and seems to be worth the money.

Thank you for reading

p.s. please do not post recommendations on other 4gb RAM because I do not have the money to get them. thank you again
__________________

golumstoe is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

if you get 4gb of RAM, you will need to get a 64bit operating system because there is a 32bit limitation and if you tried to use 4 gigs with a 32 bit OS, it would actually only utilize 2 gigs.
__________________

Balishang is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 09:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

depends on what you want to do

xp 2gb is fine
vista 4gbs is better but 2gb is still good

both need 64bit version to use all 4gbs
32bit have limitation of ~3.5gb

4 sticks usually have worse OC ability if thats something you are interested in
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.clown View Post
depends on what you want to do

xp 2gb is fine
vista 4gbs is better but 2gb is still good

both need 64bit version to use all 4gbs
32bit have limitation of ~3.5gb

4 sticks usually have worse OC ability if thats something you are interested in
im practically going to oc as much as i can
whats wrong with 4gb and ocing?

oh and just to get things cleared up
this is 64 bit right? --> Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows XP Professional With SP2C for System Builders - Operating Systems
golumstoe is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by golumstoe View Post
im practically going to oc as much as i can
whats wrong with 4gb and ocing?

oh and just to get things cleared up
this is 64 bit right? --> Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows XP Professional With SP2C for System Builders - Operating Systems
no, this is
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

4x1gb sticks adds more strain on the NB which requires extra voltage to stabilze and/or result in lower speeds. You're better off grabbing 2x2gb sticks
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
4x1gb sticks adds more strain on the NB which requires extra voltage to stabilze and/or result in lower speeds. You're better off grabbing 2x2gb sticks
I guess I'll stick with 2gb for now.
Although I really want DX10 and 4g RAM... they are too expensive for me.
golumstoe is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

You can't afford 2x2gb Sticks? they cost less than 2 2gb DDR2 kits..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
You can't afford 2x2gb Sticks? they cost less than 2 2gb DDR2 kits..
Ya. Sadly.
My dad thinks everything is SOO overpriced.

I see a few OCZ 2x2gb ones for ~$60 after MIR.
Hey... wait.. I can afford $60!
But are they worth it?

Unfortunately, I have no idea what to look for when it comes to RAM.
Isn't it like DDR2 1000 > DDR2 800?

This page Newegg.com - Mail In Rebate, 4GB (2 x 2GB), Desktop Memory, Memory, Computer Hardware
has a bunch of them.

If I had to pick from one of the $60 MIR OCZ or Corsair ones, which would it be the best choice?

Gracias
golumstoe is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAM - 2gb vs 4gb

Yes and no, if the Latency and timings are way high, then don't bother.. but these were good candidates:

Newegg.com - Patriot Viper 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

^^^ the 3rd one Veedubfreak has.. (I think... no thats right... I think?)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM for Dell E-1705 to 2GB Mach1threat Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-09-2008 05:45 PM
Should I get 4GB of RAM? Difficolt question.. Kdar New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-21-2008 03:17 AM
2gb vs 4gb of ram wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-08-2008 11:12 PM
2GB DDR2 RAM to 4GB madking153 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-13-2007 06:06 PM
stupid guy wants 4GB of RAM... jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 07:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.