Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2008, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default Ram

Hey everyone, just had a quick question. currently i have 2 gigs of corsair ram, i am placing an order soon from newegg for a few things and was just curious if it would be worth it to get one more gig? or will 2 gigs be plenty still? just curious anyways lol.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Ram

2gb is still plenty sufficient for most if running XP....if you upgrade to 3gb you might notice a bit more snappiness, especially when alt-tabbing out of games and such. Or, if you use photo or video editing software you'll definitely see an improvement.

As low as prices are right now it really cant hurt to get another 2x512mb or 2x1gb (whatever you do make sure to buy another complete pair to keep it running in dual channel mode)
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default Re: Ram

ok, so you would reccomend me get 2 more gigs rather than jsut 1 gig? and another question, how do i know what kind to get? i know i have corsair but what else do i need to look at when buying it to make sure i get a compatible kind and what not?
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM Upgrade Problem millsy5 System Upgrades 7 03-14-2008 05:56 AM
High density ram upgrade Inigo_Montoya System Upgrades 0 02-24-2008 11:50 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.