Ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Ram?

So if I would have bought the P35-DS3R/DS3L, could I run DDR2 667 until I get a pair of DDR2 800 for it? Would it work?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Ram?

i think so, pretty sure, but wait for another response in case. Ive ran my 800 at 702 before and it worked fine.
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ram?

It's just a standard. I think it should work. It will just downclock or run at 667 automatically.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: Ram?

Or you could overclock it to DDR2 800
__________________
Q6600@3.6
EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Ram?

What would the speed for my RAM be if I would overclock it to DDR2 800? Sorry, I'm a bit slow as it goes with RAM overclocking. Otherwise, overclocking the CPU and VGA, I'm pretty experienced.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 05:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ram?

The speed of your RAM, if it were overclocked to 800, is 400MHz.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: Ram?

Yea of coarse they will work it doesnt need to be 800mhz rams in the mobo.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.