Ram! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2007, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Ram!

Ok so i have a gigabyte p35-ds3L mobo, and 2X1GB corsair xms2 ram.
what slots do i put it in to activate dual channel mode, or whatever that is.
__________________

__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Ram!

Doesnt matter, just make sure you use the same color slot for both sticks.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: Ram!

ya ok thats what i thought
__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ram!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhlrocker View Post
ya ok thats what i thought
are you going to oc the e6550?
i got it upto 3.33 on stock voltage and stock ram timings.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ram!

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Doesnt matter, just make sure you use the same color slot for both sticks.
thats not always true.. there are some boards... that require you to use different colors for Dual-Channel like MSI's p6n so check your board's manual b4 you do... but I'm sure its same color... i just wanted to point that out...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ram!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
thats not always true.. there are some boards... that require you to use different colors for Dual-Channel like MSI's p6n so check your board's manual b4 you do... but I'm sure its same color... i just wanted to point that out...
for the mobo he has its the same color that hes suppose to use.
I think you can also check CPU-Z to confirm it.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Ram!

Very true...rare but true.

It will say if its running in dual channel mode when you boot up the puter and it does its bios checks...or you can download CPU-Z and it will tell you on the memory tab.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: Ram!

Quote:
are you going to oc the e6550?
i got it upto 3.33 on stock voltage and stock ram timings.
wow man, ya not at the moment. i have the stock cooler right now so ya. but once i do im gonna pm you
__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ram!

you should post in the oc'ing section.... plus i can help too... i used to own a Core 2 Duo e4300 that i got to 3.0ghz.... but my grades slipped so i'm with p4 now... but i can help...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
Ram Issue, Compaq 700 series SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-30-2007 11:10 PM
RAM trouble Spud5437 System Upgrades 2 09-30-2007 04:11 PM
1.5gb vs 2gb ram dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-21-2007 05:03 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.