Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2006, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Ram

Hmm, sombody explain to me why my computer performs better with 1GB compared to 2GB
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i didnt know it did i was always under the impressioin that right now 4x512 ram is the fastest right now but 2x1gb is mor future proof
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

actually 2x 1gb is supposedly fastest right now. 4x 512 is just more memory chips it has to switch between
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

can you be more specific?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 10:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Default

it can also depend on your ram speeds...are both (or all four) sticks 100% the same?
PitfireX is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

they were 2x 1gb sticks of ddr2 800 chipstimings of 5-5-5-15
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 04:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
can you be more specific?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

wow, quoting himself. But i do agree with anthrax. Are you saying your computer is running faster with just one of your ram sticks in vs having in both of them? If that is the case make sure to run memtest to see if you have a faulty ram stick.
luke87 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 10:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yeah it runs more responsive with one stick. ran memtest and it reported everything as a-ok.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.