Raising CAS Latency = Crash - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2007, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Raising CAS Latency = Crash

I built a nice system with the help of these forums about two years ago. A few days ago I upgraded my cpu from a 3200+ Venice core to an Opteron 165. To my surprise it booted up right away with what I believe were simply the exact same BIOS settings I had for my old chip, which resulted in a 400mhz overclock to 2.2ghz. I'm somewhat experienced in overclocking. I'm at the point right now where I'm trying to make some minor adjustments to coax some more out of the chip and I'm just baffled. It seems to be common knowledge that loosening up the timings on your ram will allow it to run at higher frequencies. So, I increased my CAS latency to 2.5 and eventually 3 (from 2) and it won't boot. Luckily I finally realized what CMOS Reloaded was for and managed to save a bootable setting before I got into this mess. If the only change I make is to increase the CAS latency, she wont boot. What's more is that I can decrease it to 1.5 and it seems to be pretty stable so far. Made it through 3dMark03 w/o a problem.

So it runs at 1.5 or 2, but nothing higher. I don't get it. This was supposed to be my next step to get more out of my OC! Mobo is a DFI Lan Party Ultra nforce 4. The ram is 2x512 Patriot pdc1g3200+xblk. Any help appreciated .
__________________

Padrino is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

try lowering the speed of the ram instead of raising the latency. you shouldnt really have to loosen the timings of the ram to get a high cpu overclock.
if you want to super duper your ram, different story. why do you want to raise it if it will boot at 1.5 anyway? i'd try to max the cpu with ram set at 2 or 2.5
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

y did u mess with the latency? just lower the ram speed.... but b4 u do all this did u MANUALLY put in the RAM Timing in the motherboard..... may help a bit..... isn't it pointless to raise it if it will boot at 1.5 anyway?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

Ok, so I suppose something just kind of clicked in my head after reading replies and thinking a bit more. It has been a while since my last overclock, so I was/am a bit rusty. My problem was that I was locking myself into a 1:1 ratio. I changed it to 9:10 and upped the FSB from 245 to 250 where it would have previously not booted, but now it does! On to 255...

You guys did help me figure this out for sure, but I like how you both avoided my question about why in the world it would crash when I raise the latency. And you ask why would I want to? It's because I know this is a step that sometimes needs to be taken during overclocking, that's why! Fortunately, I'm not at that point yet.
Padrino is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

stress test???
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

actually, no...it never has to be raised if you do not exceed the specs of your ram by too much. as long as you keep your ram speed at or close to its limit. you can lower the speed of your ram, thereby keeping it stable and maxing out your cpu at the same time. you shouldnt have to raise the latency when you overclock your cpu. only if you are overclocking your ram by a LARGE margin.
i didnt avoid your question, i just questioned why you would want to raise the latency when it seemed good to me.
maybe your ram just doesnt like to run at cas3. maybe it was a fluke. maybe that latency is too slow for your ram to run properly. there are lots of reason why it may have crashed.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
actually, no...it never has to be raised ...
You're right. I thought that went without saying.

Stress tested... not yet. Actually, it's about to get a pretty decent one once I log on to WOW in a sec here. But I'm done overclocking for the night, as it's getting late and I think I have reached a nice plateau atm. My ram is running at 252mhz which is pretty much exactly as far as I could push it at the 1:1 ratio. The chip is at 2.52 ghz and HTT of 280 mhz. CAS latency still at 2. 750mhz overclock so far. Tomorrow I'll see how much further I can get.
Padrino is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 02:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

^^lol^^ i know i'm right.
if it goes without saying...uh, why did you say it? read your second post, second paragraph, bro.
but, in any event, nice job with the overclock.
let us know if we can be of further assistance.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 07:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Raising CAS Latency = Crash

ive also noticed that happens alot here where people answer ur qestions with theirs or statements agaisnt what uve done. i cant say i havent done this aswell lol
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AUTHZ.dll error. Crash Zardoz Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-13-2007 05:59 PM
Brightstor ARCserve Backup job crash T-Wave Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-23-2007 11:54 AM
Does your Keyboard crash? Ultra Steel PC Gaming 12 04-26-2007 06:39 PM
PC crash sammytheman Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-26-2007 02:27 AM
help with windows explorer crash aricav05 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-10-2007 11:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.