RAID Setup Advice Needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default RAID Setup Advice Needed

I am building a computer with three hard drives. I do mostly video so I want two of the drives to be mirrored and the non-RAID drive to have Windows XP home installed.

My ASUS board uses NVidia RAID.

I think I just enable two of the drives (in BIOS) for a RAID (non-bootalble RAID Setup - F10) and XP will be installed on the single drive.

How do I assure the single drive is the C drive?
__________________

Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

up
__________________

__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

What type of raid configurationg or you gonna use?

I would suggest using RAID 0, but beware that raid 0 has no fault tolerance that means if one of your drives fail both of them fail.

It's very difficult to recover from a harddrive failing in raid 0
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If you have three drives that are all exactly the same then go RAID 5 as is it striping with fault tolerance.

Ridlyn: In RAID 0, if one harddrives dies you cannot recover any Data off the other drive, since half the file is stored on the other drive.

If anything the OS should be raided also, So what you want to do is kind of useless.

RAID 5 is all you need.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.