RAID setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2007, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default RAID setup

I am done building my computer now I was wanting to setup the hdds in RAID. I have read up some on this and wanted some opinions. The main reason I was wanting to do this was to help speed up performance for gaming.

After reading about Raid 0 I don't think I want to go that route. It sounds like if one drive fails you are basically in trouble. I don't want to have to backup everything every second I download.

Raid 1 seems like a better solution since it creates a backup and also improves performance.

This is the information I have gotten reading on various sites if its not correct please let me know.

I was curious if everyone thinks RAID is worth it or if I should just go with a normal setup? Also will the performance increase be that noticeable?

I also saw you need a floppy drive to install some drivers during the setup. Is there anyway to get around that like with a flash drive or any other way? Any information anyone can give would be appreciated.
__________________

SheeppOSU is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAID setup

RAID1 doesn't increase performance... but u really don't need a RAID, jsut go with one HD, but u can get raid5 (3 hd's) with performance and security
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: RAID setup

RAID 1 doesn't increase your performance
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: RAID setup

Ahh well thanks for the head up thats why I love and hate the internet at the same time =) Anyone can put anything they want on there. Well anyone think setting up RAID 0 is worth the hassle then or just set them up normal? I don't know how big a performance increase will be.
SheeppOSU is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: RAID setup

The performance increase is very minimal from what I have read... If I were to do a raid setup I would just do RAID 1,it doesn't have any performance value. But is a great way to backup all your data.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: RAID setup

i was just reading about RAID 3 n 4 n they sound kind of interesting to try out. Anyone done RAID 3 or 4 yet?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: RAID setup

RAID - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

we use raid 5 w/ parity a lot at work
Sardonic is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 06:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: RAID setup

If you are strictly interested in gaming, don't RAID. If you are going to do photo or video editing, you will notice the increase in performance from RAID-0. Many on this forum don't see the value in a RAID configuration, because they are primarily gamers. I am in the process of building a computer and I will probably use a RAID 0 configuration. Not for gaming, though. Indeed, the newer computer setups are so fast that you don't need increased performance you get from a RAID confguration.
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: RAID setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
If you are strictly interested in gaming, don't RAID. If you are going to do photo or video editing, you will notice the increase in performance from RAID-0. Many on this forum don't see the value in a RAID configuration, because they are primarily gamers. I am in the process of building a computer and I will probably use a RAID 0 configuration. Not for gaming, though. Indeed, the newer computer setups are so fast that you don't need increased performance you get from a RAID confguration.
hmm true, but gamers r still going to RAID 0, it helps decrease time loading data before a game starts n probably during.

my friend wants to get another Raptor n RAID 0 it but i told him it's not worth it.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 09:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: RAID setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hmm true, but gamers r still going to RAID 0, it helps decrease time loading data before a game starts n probably during.

my friend wants to get another Raptor n RAID 0 it but i told him it's not worth it.
RAID 0 is no different than having only 1 HD. because with both if a HD crashes then all data is lost.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM
Raid Setup jungleland New Systems | Building and Buying 28 05-26-2007 11:52 AM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.