Raid Setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2007, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Raid Setup

I have one IDE and two SATA drives..



I'm not even sure how RAID works or what the benefits are, so I would love some help on whether or not I want to setup all of this...

I can put my OS on any drive, IDE or SATA

My MB is an ASUS p5n32-e sli


thanks for the help..
__________________

__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Raid Setup

That motherboard only supports RAID on the SATA drives (without an add-in card). You can do a RAID 0 setup with the 2 SATA drives, which will make it ONE logical 500 Gig drive, but if ONE drive fails, ALL of the data will be lost. In a RAID 1 setup, the drives are mirrored, so you will LOSE 250 Gigs of space, but if one of the drives fails, you will still have your data on the other drive.

You don't have enough drives for RAID 5, you need at least 3.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Re: Raid Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
That motherboard only supports RAID on the SATA drives (without an add-in card). You can do a RAID 0 setup with the 2 SATA drives, which will make it ONE logical 500 Gig drive, but if ONE drive fails, ALL of the data will be lost. In a RAID 1 setup, the drives are mirrored, so you will LOSE 250 Gigs of space, but if one of the drives fails, you will still have your data on the other drive.

You don't have enough drives for RAID 5, you need at least 3.


thanks for the reply..

So I would need to FORMAT both SATA Drives?

Is there any performance benefit in using a RAID 0 SETUP vs standard SATA?
__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Raid Setup

What about RAID 0+1?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4
Default Re: Raid Setup

B1gapl:
I believe Raid 0+1 requires a minimum of 4 drives to implement.
AC&NC | RAID.edu - RAID Levels - RAID Level 0+1 - RAID 0+1
Opteva is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Raid Setup

Ahh...I see...great find Opteva.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default Re: Raid Setup

RAID is intended for an environment where systems require constant uptime, therefore in the event of a drive failure a second drive will have mirrored the data and take over for the dead drive, while the dead drive is replaced. Once a new drive is installed, the RAID should write back over the other drive automatically.

The only exception would be a RAID 0 which is probably most popular among home and casual users. RAID 0 will not archive data and is instead designed with the intention of decreasing seek and load times. If you want speed, I would recommend simply using a 10,000RPM drive.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Raid Setup

OK, I know that in RAID 0, if one dies or fails, all the data between the two hard drives is lost. But does that make the hard drive, that didn't die or fail, useless? Or could you just format it?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 05:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default Re: Raid Setup

Yes, the data unusable because it's split in half, but as long as the drive is still in working condition you can still format and reuse the drive.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Raid Setup

RAID 0 IMO is a better option than a single 10000rpm drive unless you have the money. You are getting a noticeable increase in performance and cut down load times and pretty much 10 times the storage...I like that ratio,
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM
RAID question Goped79 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-25-2007 11:36 PM
IDE RAID for Dell DImension 2400 sw_freak64 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 12:01 AM
RAID 5 issue Chveu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2007 04:13 PM
XP Install, Cannot see RAID g_booto Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-01-2007 08:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.