RAID questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2005, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default RAID questions

I am going to create a RAID0 between two 120gb SeaGate Barracudas and i have some questions. Should i intall the OS onto one hard drive without the other one plugged in? If so, then do connect the other one and create the RAID and after that, finish loading everything else? I would like to know this because i was going to do it tomorrow. Thanks
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You create the raid then install the os
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Have a Disaster Plan ready, Back up your data on another Single Drive, because RAID 0 Provides no fault tolerence.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

RAID 0 implements a striped disk array, the data is broken down into blocks and each block is written to a separate disk drive

I/O performance is greatly improved by spreading the I/O load across many channels and drives


Best performance is achieved when data is striped across multiple controllers with only one drive per controller


No parity calculation overhead is involved


Very simple design


Easy to implement
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Personnely I wove RAID 5. Its Pwns.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Ive been thinking about what happens if a drive fails. I was wondering because if i installed the OS onto the first had drive only, that if the other one failed during the RAID0, i would still have the OS on the system. What is the chance of a drive really failing? I dont really think i need a back up since i wont have too much data too begin with.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 12:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

this will tell you everthing you need and want to know about raid



http://www.acnc.com/04_01_00.html
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
Ive been thinking about what happens if a drive fails. I was wondering because if i installed the OS onto the first had drive only, that if the other one failed during the RAID0, i would still have the OS on the system. What is the chance of a drive really failing? I dont really think i need a back up since i wont have too much data too begin with.
I don't think you understand the Concept here. With any RAID you need At least two Drives. You cannot put the OS on one drive, the Data for everything including the OS is split between two drivesor more.
I don't know statistics on what drive failure is, but you should have back ups especially with RAID 0 because if one drive fails, you cannot recover the information on them. Therefore All Data including the OS is totally lost.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you need raid 1
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

That link was perfect. I understood what was happening in RAID0 but had some questions about it. After seeing this, im going to go with a RAID1.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.