RAID question set-up! Thanks!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2008, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

OK SO I am building a new beast machine and wanted to look into the raid set up options..

I have been reading all about RAID set up and want to know which way I should go. I want performance increase, but with drive protection. Only thing is my antec 900 only has 3 hard drive slots.. My new motheboard supports SATA RAID 0/1/0+1.

If I cant have both performance and mirroring I would just go with the mirror drives. One other question I have is how good is on board raid controllers compared to an external raid controller for MY set-up..

I am also aware that I would have to purchase a raid controller in order to run a different raid set-up.
THANKS!!!
__________________

briana06 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

RAID 5 is what you want. Needs at least three hard Drives, preferably of Same size and model.

Which I guess is RAID 0+1 on your mobo, but for best performence I suggest a Separate PCI RAID Card with RAID 5 capabilities.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

I am looking for raid cards on new egg.. raid 5 cards seem to be expensive.. Do I need a card with 4x sata II ports thus I will be hooking up 3 HD's?

Dont you need a minimum of 4 hard drives for 0 + 1?
briana06 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

RAID 0+1 and RAID 5 although similar are slightly different. I do not know the exact differences though.
RAID Cards will be expensive because they are hardware RAID and not software, and therefore they are more reliable, faster and use less system resources.

So yes you would need a PCI or PCI X one with at least 4 SATA ports. You can have more than 3 Drives with RAID 5, but 3 is minimum.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

Great, thanks guys. I will be doing a raid 1 set up until I get my additional hard drive as well as raid controller. Thank you for the help guys! Anything else I should know?
briana06 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

I would still suggest buying three Harddrives.
A 500 GB external one for back ups and two 250GB internal ones for RAID 0.

This way you can still have the speed and backs ups.

Or Terabyte Drive external and two 500 GB's internals in RAID 0.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

That sounds like a good idea, then I could run raid zero for performance off the motherboard, and then the 3rd for back up. I would much rather do that since the mobo supports that set up. How would i go about backing up all my files onto the 3rd one? Copy / paste or should I get a program.
briana06 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

I usually just manually copy and paste whatever I deem to be important. Hasn't failed me yet.

A program may be good for someone that may not be too computer litterate or may not know what needs to be backed up.

Oh, you can get a cheaper external HD by buying an internal HD and the enclosure separtely and just putting it together.

newegg has a large selection of enclosures..
make sure you get one with a fan, AC adapter, internal Sata connector and external USB and or firewire and or SATA.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: RAID question set-up! Thanks!!

I will stick with the copy / paste idea.. wow man thanks a bunch! I hope the mobo raid controller will work well.. well for me I guess anything will since I am upgrading from a IDE 5400 HD to raid 0 7200 sata II

Great info STE and thanks again!
__________________

briana06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid Hard Drive Question RobertXYZ System Upgrades 6 01-04-2008 09:00 AM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM
Question on raid 1? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-15-2007 03:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.