RAID question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2011, 01:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default RAID question

I'm sure this is a stupid question, but I've been searching around for a while and can't find an answer.

I just ordered 2 WD Caviar Blue HDD's that I intend to set up in RAID 0 for storage purposes. I already have Windows 7 installed on an SSD so this array won't be used as a boot device. I understand how to set up a raid array when you're installing Windows, but how about when you already have all that done, and just want to use it for storage? One confusing and very vague article I read said that I would have to reinstall Windows but that doesn't seem right.

If anyone could explain the basic steps or point out a relevant article it would be much appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

JustBecause is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: RAID question

RAID 0 is a pretty terrible RAID for storage, BTW. You won't need to reinstall Windows, just plug the drives into the controller and follow the controller's instructions for initialising the array. Then boot up windows and you should be able to partition and format the array just like you do for a normal drive.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: RAID question

I don't mean storage like storing important files or anything, all this computer is used for is games, and it's not the end of the world if I lose those. I am looking for the best performance possible however, so if I'm not mistaken raid 0 is the way to go. And I'm sure this is a stupid question but what do you mean by controller? I'm assuming it's a raid controller, but I was under the impression that just about any modern medium to high end mobo had it built in.
JustBecause is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: RAID question

Yep, you have to connect the HDDs to the raid controller in your mobo and configure the array. Windows should recognize it after the raid setup is configured.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 08:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: RAID question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustBecause View Post
I don't mean storage like storing important files or anything, all this computer is used for is games, and it's not the end of the world if I lose those. I am looking for the best performance possible however, so if I'm not mistaken raid 0 is the way to go. And I'm sure this is a stupid question but what do you mean by controller? I'm assuming it's a raid controller, but I was under the impression that just about any modern medium to high end mobo had it built in.
If you don't mind too much about the files then RIAD 0 will be fine. Mobos may have one or more controllers (with varying capabilities) built into them but it is still a controller, the instructions for it should be in the motherboard instruction manual.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID 0 Question Tubson57 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-09-2010 02:13 PM
RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID and JBOD Question Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 0 08-29-2009 10:15 AM
Raid Data Recovery Software Raid To Raid Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-14-2009 12:34 PM
Another Raid 0 Question...with non-raid dual boot UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-02-2008 08:37 AM
Raid Question? dennykyser New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-09-2006 06:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.