RAID question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2007, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default RAID question?

Ok well the other RAID question got me to thinking. For my next build, which will occur shortly, I will be using two 250gb Seagate 7200.10's. I would like to set these two drives up in a RAID 0 config, however, I also have an extra WD 250gb lying around so I figured that I would throw that in there to copy and store information in case of a loss of failure in the RAID'ed drives.

My question is, is this possible?

I have never fooled with any type of RAID setup so am clueless how to set it up. Are the drives RAIDed in BIOS before windows install. Cause in RAID 0 the install would be on both drives correct? Also once windows is installed do both drives just show in windos as one drive?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: RAID question?

RAID 5 is good for you
its basically RAID 0 + 1
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: RAID question?

Well great. Thanks. Now can you expaline to me how that works and how I would go about setting that up on my new machine.
__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: RAID question?

will I need a floppy drive to raid 0 2 seagates 7200.10s?
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 10:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: RAID question?

i needed a floppy drive to install them before os installation
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: RAID question?

OK WTH your guys talking about. Will I hve to put RAID drivers on a floppy to configure the system. Someone please splain it to me...
__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: RAID question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice8168 View Post
OK WTH your guys talking about. Will I hve to put RAID drivers on a floppy to configure the system. Someone please splain it to me...
ROFL!!! dude you sound so demanding... HAHAHAHA
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: RAID question?

Dont mean to be demanding. Funny that you took it like that. O well all in good fun. OK back to the subject at hand anyone...
__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: RAID question?

Ok I wiki'd RAID 5 and now im really lost. I guess what I was trying to state woth my first quest was could I RAID 0 the two Seagate drives for faaster perfomance and them install the WD drive and used as a seperate secondary storage. I want the WD available just to move information on to, and not really set up into any type of automatic information storage (RAID 5). Am I making any sense here?
To OnlyCurious- No demand intended here
__________________
CPU: Q6600 @ 3.5/Thermalright 120 Extreme
MOBO: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
RAM: 2G Corsair 800 DDR2 XMS2
GPU: EVGA 7950 GT KO
PSU: Corsair HX520
Case: Lian Li PC-A05B modded
Ice8168 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAID question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice8168 View Post
Ok I wiki'd RAID 5 and now im really lost. I guess what I was trying to state woth my first quest was could I RAID 0 the two Seagate drives for faaster perfomance and them install the WD drive and used as a seperate secondary storage. I want the WD available just to move information on to, and not really set up into any type of automatic information storage (RAID 5). Am I making any sense here?
To OnlyCurious- No demand intended here
raid5 requires a floppy drive if ur using 2k or XP, Vista lets u use a different source like CD/DVD, thumb drive and floppy

raid5: data security w/ performance
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on raid 1? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-15-2007 03:15 PM
Raid Question zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-27-2007 06:41 AM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM
RAID question Goped79 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-25-2007 11:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.