RAID problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2009, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Exclamation RAID problem

Sry, lol RAID problem

Ok, i am trying to add a raid 0 setup to my current system with this card,

Newegg.com - Koutech IO-PESA201 PCI Express SATA II Controller Card RAID 0,1,0+1 JBOD - Controllers / RAID Cards

and two WD 640 Blacks. I installed the drivers and everything as instructed, and the card sees both the drives, but when i try to make a RAID set in JMRAID tool i get an error that says: "Failed to create RAID array!!!". If i then exit the program and start it back up, the array shows up, but i cant delete it or anything. Then if i go to disk management, it shows up as a basic drive, but if i try to format it, my system starts to sputter. I let it "format" for 7 hours, but nothing changed. i really dont know what to do, any help would be appreciated.
__________________

strat1219 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: RAID problem

Are you setting up the raid array via a bios type setup or inside of windows?
When you restart the computer do you get some type of message like press ctl a to enter raid set up?
What will you be using this array for?

Unfortunately this companies website was not very helpful.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: RAID problem

Ya, the website is worthless. I am going to just put my games and movies on it, so if it fails it is no big deal to me. I was doing it inside of windows, and yes there is a screen when i boot up, should i just try that?
strat1219 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: RAID problem

Yes always best to set it up that way.

Good to know it is not a problem if you have a drive failure and you are aware of the ramifications.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: RAID problem

Ya, i have done this before, i just couldnt get this one working. I tried it in the BIOS like u said, and it looks better now. It is formatting and my system isnt jittering anymore, so i think we r good.
strat1219 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Issue Nihsnek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-23-2009 03:17 PM
gigabyte m-790 raid problem strebend Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-20-2009 11:00 PM
Converting simple SATA to RAID icargill Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-09-2009 07:48 AM
Problem with RAID and Lite-on DVD Drive digital_ninja2k Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 08-13-2008 01:19 AM
Bad RAID driver on Abit AW9D-Max tlharrell New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-21-2007 08:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.