To RAID or not to RAID... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 08:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default To RAID or not to RAID...

As part of my new rig I am going to setup a RAID 0 for sure with 2 74gb Raptors for gaming.

The question I have is this:

Should I use 4 36gb Raptors in RAID 0+1 for the OS or should I just use 4 7200RPM SATA's?
__________________

bryan64 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

lol...I posted the same exact topic title about two weeks ago. Your questions is a little different though.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 02:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

the raptors in RAID would be faster, but oh my god the noise would be ear splitting. I always hear how if you got a RAID array, your going to lose data, and how unsafe it is. Let me ask you this, does it make any difference if you have four disks in RAID, and one goes bad, or you have one disk in normal operation and it goes bad? No,still the same outcome. So go ahead and RAID away to your hearts content. A few pointers, first , do not overclock your system to the point that it is not stable. It is better to get your system stable before you install anything, including the OS.(this applys to all computers, RAID or not). The reason people have their problems with RAID arrays is usually from data corruption, not from failed hard disks. In RAID 0, the more disks you add, the faster it will be (up to the limit of the interface,ie SATA,SATA II,IDE etc.).
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default Re: To RAID or not to RAID...

Quote:
Originally posted by bryan64
The question I have is this:

Should I use 4 36gb Raptors in RAID 0+1 for the OS or should I just use 4 7200RPM SATA's?
I would use four SATAs in RAID 0, with one IDE for backup, Raptors are fast , but they are noisy ,run hot, and are expensive. So if you don't mind noise and got plenty of cash,go for it. Another thing is Raptors are SATA 150, so that is the max speed your RAID will run with them. And if your RAID controller is not SATA II, you will not be able to go faster anyway even with SATA IIs. But if you got a SATA II RAID, you can hit up to 3 gigs per sec. with SATA II hard drives in RAID 0.
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 07:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Thanks for the reply.

If I am going to use 4 drives I will go with the RAID 0+1 option as I want the speed and still have the redundancy, but like you said money becomes a concern.

I think the way I am leaning is this:

4 WD 250GB SATA II 16MB in RAID 0+1 and
1 WD 150GB Raptor for gaming in this rig I am building

mobo: AN832 SLI Deluxe
cpu: AMD FX-60
mem: Corsair TWINX20483500LLPRO
PSU Pcpowercooling 850 SSI
video: XFX 7800 GTX 512 (purchased)
sound: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Pro
DVD Burner: Plextor 716A
mouse: Logitexh G5 Laser Mouse
keyboard: Logitech G15 Gaming
case: Thermaltake ARMOR VA8000BWS (purchased)
watercooling: Corsair Cool Water
bryan64 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 01:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bryan64
Thanks for the reply.

If I am going to use 4 drives I will go with the RAID 0+1 option as I want the speed and still have the redundancy, but like you said money becomes a concern.

I think the way I am leaning is this:

4 WD 250GB SATA II 16MB in RAID 0+1 and
1 WD 150GB Raptor for gaming in this rig I am building

mobo: AN832 SLI Deluxe
cpu: AMD FX-60
mem: Corsair TWINX20483500LLPRO
PSU Pcpowercooling 850 SSI
video: XFX 7800 GTX 512 (purchased)
sound: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Pro
DVD Burner: Plextor 716A
mouse: Logitexh G5 Laser Mouse
keyboard: Logitech G15 Gaming
case: Thermaltake ARMOR VA8000BWS (purchased)
watercooling: Corsair Cool Water
May I ask what you need over a terabyte of storage for?
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

You will have much better performance if you use the raptor for your os. In your case I would use 2x rators raid 0 for os and games. Put no data on these because of potential for data loss. then I would have the other 4 drives in raid 0+1 or raid 5 for speed and redundancy. You definately want the os on the raptors.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cobalt817
I always hear how if you got a RAID array, your going to lose data, and how unsafe it is. Let me ask you this, does it make any difference if you have four disks in RAID, and one goes bad, or you have one disk in normal operation and it goes bad? No,still the same outcome.
Not exactly. Although you will get the same outcome, with four disks running, you are four times as lkely to have a disk failure. Granted you will rarely have a 4 disk spanned RAID setup, you get the point. With RAID 0, you are twice as likely to have a disk failure. If you do RAID 0+1, you are safe, because upon failure of a disk, the same information is stored on another disk, so no worries.

All of this sounds bad, but think about how rare a disk failure is. Say a disk failure chance is 1%. In RAID 0, you would have a 2% chance of data loss.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bryan64
Thanks for the reply.

If I am going to use 4 drives I will go with the RAID 0+1 option as I want the speed and still have the redundancy, but like you said money becomes a concern.

I think the way I am leaning is this:

4 WD 250GB SATA II 16MB in RAID 0+1 and
1 WD 150GB Raptor for gaming in this rig I am building

mobo: AN832 SLI Deluxe
cpu: AMD FX-60
mem: Corsair TWINX20483500LLPRO
PSU Pcpowercooling 850 SSI
video: XFX 7800 GTX 512 (purchased)
sound: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Pro
DVD Burner: Plextor 716A
mouse: Logitexh G5 Laser Mouse
keyboard: Logitech G15 Gaming
case: Thermaltake ARMOR VA8000BWS (purchased)
watercooling: Corsair Cool Water


My god.....if money is such a concern then why the **** are you getting a 7800 GTX 512, a X1900XTX kils that thing for less money AND FX-60? Im sorry but wooow....But yeah a TB of storage what gives?..hmm
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 04:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

I wonder if hes checked out Newegg for this dream pc of his.... Hope you wallet is as fat as your appetite!
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.