To RAID or not to RAID... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default To RAID or not to RAID...

Hey, I'm going to be building a new pc in a few months and I'm concerned about HDD's...Is it worth it to RAID 0 two 160GB HDD's together or better to simply buy one 320GB HDD? I have been told that RAID 0 is a not as reliable but is essentially, twice as fast as a conventional drive setup. So is it really worth the risk? If the performance gain is high than I'd say it is, but I'm not familiar with RAID setups at all.


Oh ya, if i want to RAID 0 two drives, do I need a RAID controller Card or will an ASUS Premium SLi MOBO work fine?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

....come on people...
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

buy two 160gb and dont use RAID 0
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

RAID 0 gives a 45% performence increase. You will only really notice a difference if the parts for the rest of the computer are high grade. So if you have summin like a AMD X2 3800 with a 7800GT graphics u may find a speed increase. You also get the increased capacity. I my self are just diciding wether or not to get RAID and i think i will. You probably won't need a RAID controler as most motherboards come with RAID now just check the site of your motherboard and it should say. If your worried about the loss of data then you can try someother RAID's that increase the speed like RAID 0 but you lose some space but you do get a backup. I don't see the point really as hard drives don't fail very often and if they do then you could easily have backups of things on DVD's.

So to summerise get RAID 0 for extra speed and space. You can always try differen't RAID setups if your worried about data loss. But you don't increase any risk's of drive failure it's just if 1 drive fails you lose the lot as the data is striped across both drives. I would get 2 8mb cache 160GB hard drives and run em in RAID 0 that would give you the speed of a 16mb cache Raptor drive and 320GB space for alot cheaper.
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Personally I wouldn't do a RAID 0 Array, but I'm sure for every person who's ever had one fail, there are 100,000 people who never had a problem. If you're really worried, save up some more money and do a RAID 0 + 1 Array. Also, no you dont need a seperate RAID controller card with that motherboard, if its a SATA mobo it will have it built in.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Huh...ya i do plan to run an AMD 64 4000 and a 7800GT so i think i like the idea of RAID 0. and like you said dvd back-ups. Thats a ton of DVD but oh well. Im not too paranoid. It really comes down to $$$ to be honest. 45% increase worth the extra 50 bucks? I'll have to think it over more. My biggest problem will be getting my 60gigs worth of crap from this pc to my new one....considering they'll be in raid.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

i decided to do a raid 0 setup with my 2 160gb SATA seagate hard drives. I've never heard of there being "a risk".
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

you could do raid 0 with whatever then buy something like a secondary 250gb which is only around $100 or a 320gb. buy some backup software and do incremental backups onto it. it would be cheaper and be less of a hassle
Effex is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

oh just for back ups? i see. who knows. I looked up raid 0 "reviews" if you will and the performance increase doesn't seem very large. I'm not sure if its worth the extra $. oh ya, whats the diff between ATA100,133,150, S ATA as far as performance
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I don't think it's 45% increase in performance. But, I could be wrong.

The only way i'd recommend RAID 0 would be for Additonal Storage. EXAMPLE:

2 - 400G SATA Seagates for $160 a pop = $320 for 800G
2 - 300G SATA Seagates for $140 a pop = $280 for 600G
2 - 250G SATA Seagates for $102 a pop = $204 for 500G

1 - 500G SATA Seagate will cost you $340

REDUNDANT ARRAY OF INEXPENSIVE DISKS...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.