RAID help plz!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2006, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default RAID help plz!!!

I am planning a new system for this Christmas and I was thinking of putting in a raid setup because I will be going to school next fall for 3d animation and I dont want to lose my projects because one of my hd fails. I wont need any massive amount of storage but I do want a fair amount. My main thing is I want redundancy for the drives. I do not know how to set this up and could use some help from somebody out there. Thanks a lot for all of your help in advance. =)
__________________

Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 06:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

1. Get two matching drives - size and MFG
2. Install drives.
3. Insert Windows CD
4. Windows will start to load and at the bottom of the screen it will say press f6 to load Raid drivers. or something like that
5. when it tells you to, insert disk (floppy) with RADI drivers on it. These disks come with the Motherboard.
6. select Raid 1 (mirror)
7. Continue with windows load as normal
8. finished

The steps may not be exact, but the main point is to load the drivers BEFORE windows is on one drive. Windows will not copy itself to the other drive.

I had a few issues when did this for the first time, but don't worry, its a simple operation once you get things going.

__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

Its really that easy?!? RAID 1 is the one I should use for redundancy? What drives do you recommend?
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

I have 2 Maxtor DiamondMax 10's, at 300 Gigs each, got them in basically perfect shape, for 100 bucks. Not sure if those are the ideal drives, but thats what I'll be using for mine
__________________
NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

I don't need quite that much space but thanks for the suggestion. =)
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

Haha, no neither do I, but for 100 bucks, it wasn't exactly something to pass up lol.
__________________
NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 11:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Yes, it's that easy.

Raid 1 is what you're after. Raid 0 is called striping (Data split between drives) and raid 1 is called mirroring, like a "mirror image". same data on both drives.

As for the drives, I would recommend Western Digital or Segate.

You can get some Western Digital 80 gig SATA hard drives at newegg for 43.99 + shipping. heres a link

Just make sure your mobo supports the SATA type. If you DO NOT have support for the SATA, heres a link for 80gig IDE drives same price!

One final thing. If your mobo does not support raid you can get an atermarket PCI card that has a RAID controller on it. The card will also come with the drivers.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

O don't worry about my mobo supporting RAID and SATA, im getting brand-new top-end stuff. gonna cost me around $3600 for all of it. =)
thanks a lot hercules.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ferarri
O don't worry about my mobo supporting RAID and SATA, im getting brand-new top-end stuff. gonna cost me around $3600 for all of it. =)
thanks a lot hercules.
Have you posted a Build thread? I would like to see what you compiled.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ferarri
O don't worry about my mobo supporting RAID and SATA, im getting brand-new top-end stuff. gonna cost me around $3600 for all of it. =)
thanks a lot hercules.
WOW! For that kind of money you should be getting a beast of a computer. Are you building it yourself? E6800 extreme CPU, Dual 8800GTX, nice monitor....??
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.