RAID and hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2007, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default RAID and hard drives

RAID is used to link hard drives together correct? well I am purchasing a new 300g seagate hdd and it will be the only hdd i will be using, no slave drives, just it. Would i even need to set up RAID on my mobo then?
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

There's different types of RAID for different uses but you don't need RAID to connect hard drives nor for just one drive.

Nope don't worry about RAID my friend.

Common types of RAID are raid 0 in which data is split on two different hard drives of the same capacity so the data can be accessed twice as fast. So if the word RAID was written in RAID 0 it would look like RI on the first drive and AD on the second drive.

RAID 1 is another common setup were one hard drive just mirrors the other one so all your data is safe.

hope that helps
__________________

WCAS is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

Ok cool that does help, I'm going to be connecting my hdd through sata, will i have to do any manual configuration? or will it automatically set in and be recognized by the computer
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by BonKerz View Post
Ok cool that does help, I'm going to be connecting my hdd through sata, will i have to do any manual configuration? or will it automatically set in and be recognized by the computer
No you shouldnt have to, you mobo should recognise it.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 12:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 125
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
No you shouldnt have to, you mobo should recognise it.
So all you have to do is connect the SATA cables to the mobo, hard drive, and PSU and bada bing! The computer recognizes it?
OneArmedScissor is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneArmedScissor View Post
So all you have to do is connect the SATA cables to the mobo, hard drive, and PSU and bada bing! The computer recognizes it?
yep pretty much, jumper settings on EIDE HD days are over.... no more Slave/Master, Primary/Secondary
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

The beauty of the technology & computers!!
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

what is the jumper setting configuration besides master and slave, i was talking to somebody and they mentioned a third setting that would be better to use
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 03:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

on sata there are no jumper settings the seagate barracuda does have a jumper though which you should remove as it limits the drives to sata1 instead of its full potential of sata2 in real world performance it hardly makes a difference as a mechanical drive can't spin fast enough to enable the full cable transfer rate, but taking the jumper out doesn't ause any harm and you never know you may get an extra 1mb/sec on your transfer rates lol
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 05:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: RAID and hard drives

The third setting you're asking about is CS or Cable Select, but when you are using a SATA drive it doesn't matter where you put the jumper because as stated before SATA drives don't need jumpers.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD Hard Drive and RAID OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-20-2007 04:31 AM
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM
Raid help. objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-31-2007 12:11 PM
Hard Drive Speeds and RAID 0 zdude255 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-26-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.