Raid with external hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Default Raid with external hard drive?

Is this possible?

Right now I have all my information on my 250gig external hard drive.
I'm going to buy a 250gig internal hard drive and copy the data into it.

Could I use RAID on my external hard drive?
__________________

dsuh is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Default

bump
__________________

dsuh is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i believe if its an sata interface not USB you can but then thats just a pain and then you have to keep your case open and whatnot
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Maybe with eSata but not sure. I know you can't do it with USB/Firewire.
turtile is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

wtf is eSata?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

e= external

Its a sata interface that can have a plug in power and data.

(like USB but with sata - except USB doesn't have a special power plug coming from the computer)

I've seen a prototype CF reader that used esata a while ago.
turtile is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 06:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Yea, just have a Sata drive outside the case and find or make a hole for the sata cable to come out of your case from your mobo to the hdd. It doesn't make since to have an external raid because as soon as you remove the external hdd your computer won't work, especially if your os is split between both hdd.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.