Which RAID? Confused... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2007, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Question Which RAID? Confused...

Hey, just got myself a second 250gb Seagate barracuda hdd and i was thinking about putting them both into RAID. I guess as I only have the 2 of them it's going to either be 0 or 1. I think I'm leaning towards 0 at the moment, but what are peoples thoughts? I don't really know much about RAID, hence the post, so you'll have to keep any RAID jargon under control cus I probably wont understand it

Any help would be great.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 63
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

Well if your a gamer and your sick of load times go raid 0, if your worried about hard drive failures go raid 1.

I'm a gamer and RTS load times killed me until I went raid 0.

My brother set up a raid 1 because he has a huge music library he wants to keep safe.

Hope I helped
__________________

WCAS is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

Since you have already two 250GB HDDs, and want a performance boost, go for RAID 0. If you want security go RAID 1.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

i wouldnt do raid 0 or 1
well 1 if you have ALOT of very important files you cant afford to lose
ive done raid 0 before and its a waste the speed increase in loading times was not noticeable at all.
and with raid 0 you have no place to backup if you need to reformat
so i suggest not to raid
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

fade2black does have a point. You could just use the 250GB as the main hard drive. It's only a couple of seconds different than RAID's performance....and use the other 250GB as backup.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 12:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

i've got another drive that i use for backup, though it's an external one.
and thanks all for the advice, looks like 0 it is!
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

yea if you have a back up already then go ahead and try raid 0 and see if you like it
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 01:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 263
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
fade2black does have a point. You could just use the 250GB as the main hard drive. It's only a couple of seconds different than RAID's performance....and use the other 250GB as backup.
That's basically the same thought process as RAID 1. Personally I'd just go with RAID 1 as it provides continuous backup of files and the speed is pretty much the same as a non-raid hd.
__________________
Case Antec Nine Hundred
PSU Corsair 620HX
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU E6550
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
RAM Crucial Ballistix (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Hard Disk (x2) Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA (RAID1)
Graphics EVGA 8800GTS 320mb
Monitor SAMSUNG 216BW Black 21.6" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor
Optical Sony NEC Optiarc DVD/RW
OS Windows XP-SP2
Bot2011 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

Actually, i'm having a few problems setting it all up. There's no option to set it up when it boots, despite the good ol' manual saying there should be. And as far as I can see, there's no other way into the raid bios.

Any ideas?
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Which RAID? Confused...

i agree.... raid0 is not worth the 2 seconds u get... data security is vital.... go for RAID1..... other wise use drives as b1gapl said
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM
Raid help. objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-31-2007 12:11 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM
RAID 5 issue Chveu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2007 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.