Raid? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Raid?

i have an 80gb hdd i was thinking about doing raid could i have 2 different size hdd? or whats needed for raid?
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

for RAID 1 and 0 You need exact harddrive sizes. For spanning which I forgot what RAID it was, you can mix sizes since the Data is written to the Drives as if it where 1 Drive. To clarify, think of it like extending a piece of paper, it will write data across it just like adding more space, in this case its adding another drive.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ok so if i SPAN i can have 2 different sized drives??
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

i was thinking about hooking up a 250 wiht my 80 will they both show up as 1 hdd? i want them to show as 1 hdd and 2hdd basiaclly....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

yes.

http://www.hardwarecentral.com/hardw...eviews/1611/4/

http://www.fantomdrives.com/products/raid/what.php4

If you want to read more about it.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

o ok thank you very much for the help.....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

raid 0 you put two hdds together but it will only use the smallest drive * 2 so two 80 GB would be 160GB one 80 GB and 200GB only 160GB in total to use

raid 1 mirror exact same things on both hdds, good for backup

raid 0+1 it raid 0 spread over two hdds and mirror those two hdds on two other hdds so in total 4 hdds
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

what about spanning ... could i usea 250 and 80 and have them come up as 2 sperate drives ?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Theyoyokid303
what about spanning ... could i usea 250 and 80 and have them come up as 2 sperate drives ?
In windows they will be seen as one drive, in BIOS they are 2 drives.

Yes you can do spanning with those 2 amounts.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 02:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ok thanks guys so ... if i have a raid 0 theny they both have to be the same and its double the space???
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.