Raid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to Wog2000
Default Raid

Hi, I just put together a new rig and am now considering if I want to set it up with RAID. I just installed most of the software but before I go any further I would like to hear from you guys if itís worth doing.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 G0|Thermalright ULTRA-120|Diamond HD 2900 XT 1GB GDDR4|4x2gig Ram|Vista Ultimate 64-bit|PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad (Red)|4x WD Caviar SE16 750GB SATA II|Sony NEC Optiarc SuperMulti SATA|Cooler Master Stacker 830 w/7-120mm case fans|Samsung 226BW|G15 Keyboard|Lachasis Mouse|Altec Lansing FX5051|TrippLite UPS
Wog2000 is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 11:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Raid

well you already have 2 x 750gb WD's so ya its definatly worth it
i recommend RAID 0, you wlil notice faster loading times
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: Raid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
well you already have 2 x 750gb WD's so ya its definatly worth it
i recommend RAID 0, you wlil notice faster loading times
x2 Using a RAID 0 setup would definitely be worth it on your system. Just be sure to back up your data in case of hard drive failure.
__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to Wog2000
Default Re: Raid

anyone doing RAID 5? or is it better to do RAID 0 and just keep doing weekly backups?
__________________
Q6600 G0|Thermalright ULTRA-120|Diamond HD 2900 XT 1GB GDDR4|4x2gig Ram|Vista Ultimate 64-bit|PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad (Red)|4x WD Caviar SE16 750GB SATA II|Sony NEC Optiarc SuperMulti SATA|Cooler Master Stacker 830 w/7-120mm case fans|Samsung 226BW|G15 Keyboard|Lachasis Mouse|Altec Lansing FX5051|TrippLite UPS
Wog2000 is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default Re: Raid

I haven't used RAID 5 on a personal computer before, only servers at work, so I couldn't tell you if there is any performance difference.
__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Raid

I've never used a RAID, though I'm planning to for my next PC, so I've been researching it a little.

So far RAID5 is my favorite RAID, though, I don't know if I'd do it unless I had four hard drives or more. RAID5 doesn't have as high of a performance increase as RAID0 (some argue that even RAID0 doesn't even increase performance that much, I'm not sure), however, RAID5 is said to be pretty close to that of RAID0.

However, you should always try and backup critical data if you can. Though it is unlikely that two drives could fail at the exact same time, it's not unheard of. Especially if you buy all your hard drives at once, they'll be from the same 'batch' of hard drives, and likely contain similar defects - increasing the chance that multiple drives fail at the same time, or for the same reason.

Even with this in mind, I think the protection from a RAID5 would be enough that I'd sleep better at night.
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Windows raid inatey Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-29-2007 11:58 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.