RAID 1 vs RAID 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2006, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default RAID 1 vs RAID 0

Considering adding a RAID array to my next build, I know the difference between the methods of RAID 1 and 0, but i'm wondering which will have better performance loading and writing data.

Which will produce the best load times? Will it even be a significant difference?
__________________

zdude255 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

0, 1 just makes a big disk out of the 2
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by harry18
0, 1 just makes a big disk out of the 2
Incorrect. 0 gives better performance and makes a big disk out of two. The reason it gives better performance is because information can be stripped across both, and both will be reading at the same time, increasing read speeds. Write speed is increased as well, just less dramatically.

1 gives the same performance, and writes the same thing on both disks, making them redundant, for security.
The General is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

RAID 0 basically make 2 harddrives act as one. It puts some of the data on on hdd then the rest on the other hdd, and since it loads from 2 hdd's it loads faster. RAID 1 is just a way of backing up in case your main harddrive dies. It installed all of the files on both harddrives.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

na, thats not right. actully yea 1 mirrors, and, ah screw it, i cant remeber
harry18 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Heh, they're just numbers. Mirrored gives same performance, stripped gives better performance.
The General is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

my brain broke, i read words and it means nothing to me
harry18 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 08:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

RAID 0 (striping): requires a minimum of 2 disks to be implemented. roughly scales as a multiple of the number of disks in performance e.g. 2 disks is close to double performance as half the data is stored on each drive on a different channel (with SATA) each extra drive adds to the maximum read/write speed

RAID 1 (mirroring): requires drives to be added in pairs with a minimum of 2 needed to implement it. no real performance increase but the advantage is in "data redundancy", meaning if a drive fails you don't lose your work. that is because each pair is a clone of each other so that if one of the pair fails you have a drive with identical data and this can be used to copy data to a replacement drive.


this website is very useful for learning about RAID and it definitely helped me to get my head around it!!!
http://www.acnc.com/04_01_00.html
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 90
Cool

hey, i wanted to setup a raid 0 the one that stripes things across like. would that make 2 250gb HD's appear as one 250gb HD? or would it appear as one 500gb HD? or would it appear as 2 250gb hd's? i never setup raid before obviously because i'm lazy. i thought i 'd give it a shot this time around unlike newegg who price gouges their loyal customers and spit on the very principals of raid.
ren0nie0 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

look at the link above. it has quite good explainations. RAID 0 will give you one 500gb "drive".
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.