Is Raid 0 worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Is Raid 0 worth it?

I was thinking of setting up raid 0 for my gaming rig with 2 WD raptors. Is it worth it or not? Also what is a good Raid card if I was to do this.
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Is Raid 0 worth it?

Quote:
Originally posted by WWS
I was thinking of setting up raid 0 for my gaming rig with 2 WD raptors. Is it worth it or not? Also what is a good Raid card if I was to do this.
I think thats overkill now...but if you have the money and need...why not? It will definately boost performance considerably.
__________________

Gabb is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

2 raptors....yes its overkill. You will see performance increase in terms of speed in windows and applications, but I don't think its worth the money. Just go with 2 SATA 3.0 or say one 250GB SATA 3.0 and a 76GB raptor. This will give you much better performance but at the same time save you A LOT of cash.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
2 raptors....yes its overkill. You will see performance increase in terms of speed in windows and applications, but I don't think its worth the money. Just go with 2 SATA 3.0 or say one 250GB SATA 3.0 and a 76GB raptor. This will give you much better performance but at the same time save you A LOT of cash.
dont listen to this guy, hes having a giraffe. You need 2 identical drives for raid 0... thought id let ya know before you go do somethin stupid
plant is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

you do not need 2 identical drives for Raid 0...

If you run different ones the total size is 2 x min
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

2 raptors isnt overkill at all im running 2 of them and its worth every penny. you see a performance increase in every aspect of computing. also my 2 raptors in raid 0 is faster then my 2 caviar sataII in raid 0.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

It's not overkill, but it's not completley worth it as just 2 36GB raptors cost over 200 bucks.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

Raid 0 is a great thing to have if are into doing a lot of multitasking or editing involving constant high bandwidth access to your hard drive(s). In gaming, two raid 0 raptors wouldn't make such a huge difference though if you've already got at least a par processor, video card, and fair share of ram. In the long run, raid 0 is nice to show off and say you have, but unless you are into a lot of editing and such, I wouldn't worry about slapping two raptors together, but maybe two cheaper drives, as the pay off is just not great enough to suffice paying the hundreds for the raptors. If you're really caught up on raiding raptors and have the spare cash though, go for it! It will definitely not harm your PC any. Hope that helps!

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Considering i don't have much better to do..I'd rather be patient and wait the extra 7 seconds when loading a game. When you get paid 9 bucks and hour... it doesnt make sense to buy your 3-15 seconds a day for an extra $100+ investment.

Personally I'd rather not develop an impatient anxiety disorder by being condition to instant everything.

Faster graphics = better quality without stutter
Faster porcessor = more complex detail
More memory = less hick-ups

Faster HDD = same data...3 seconds faster... woooowoooo
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

can i use an eide drive in raid 0? cuz i went thru my closet and found 2x 40 gb western digital drives
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.