Raid 0, opnions wanted. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2009, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Raid 0, opnions wanted.

Ok so i am going to be getting rid of my 2 current hdd's one 80gb and 160gb in place of (possibly) 2 of these

Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200AAKS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

and going raid 0. so i was wondering can i get away with not reinstalling vista and just copying my current 80gb hdd's stuff (including vista install) over to the raid instilation? or is a reinstall needed?

aslo is raid 0 a good option? i want it mainly because of the speed boost. any body got any other recomendations?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

Ehh you can always try, you're gonna need a problem to clone the contents i think, most system files are unaccessible without a third party program aren't they?

as for RAID, go for it! make sure you backup your files tho.
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

^ you mean program right?

well i would be backing up every thing i have to DVD's and the 160gb hdd. and if i set up the raid array and hooked my 80gb hdd (vista is on this) and boot off of it and copy and paste every thing to the raided 320gb hdd's and try to boot off will this work. that's basically what i'm asking. i dont really want to reinstall. it's a pain.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

A reinstall will most likely be needed. RAID is set in the BIOS and the drives have to use different drivers than the original SATA.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 04:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

I would try to ghost your current os drive. Then go into windows and copy the ghost to the raid array after it has been setup. Make sure and set it up via the raid utility after bios and not in windows. Then switch boot priority in bios to boot off the array and pull the other drive.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

I use RAID-0 on my Raptors and the speed boost is nice, but I don't know if I could say it's worth the cost of another drive. Unless you are going RAID-5 where you have some redundancy as well. As far as copying your data, it won't work. You are going to have to do a clean install as the data is spanned across both drives and Windows needs the drivers to accomplish this. Pretty sure you will just get BSODs and crashes if you ghost the current drive to the RAID array. As already suggested, use the onboard RAID controller instead of any software RAID solutions.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 02:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

hmm, i guess i could re install. i think my mobo has hardware raid support. and raid 5 would be nice but i dont want 2 drives, just 2.

so cloning the 80GB hdd to the raid array will not work? is this correct?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

Again to my knowledge this should work just fine. Set up raid0 array with your current drive as the primary. Once it is set up via the raid utility you should see it in windows. You may or may not need to install windows drivers to use the array. Then ghost from your old drive to the new array. Change the primary boot drive in bios and boot using the array. If any drivers are needed for windows to use the array you would have installed them prior to the ghosting.

Worst case if you cannot get it to work you did not waste much time. You have to set the array up anyways. The only time wasted is ghosting the drive. If it does not work then install a fresh copy of vista on the array. If it does work think of the time you would save.

Here is a nice little walk through of someone who has done it with some success.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

^ hmm, thanks for the link.

according to that person they got it to work.

last time i checked vista does not need drivers for raid (not entirley sure about this, but google will know)

anybody know of a good ghosting program? preferably free.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Raid 0, opnions wanted.

Vista does require drivers, every piece of hardware has some sort of driver so the OS can interface with it, it is just that vista has a wide array of default drivers for SATA/Raid controllers...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mind Boggling Raid Problems DesoShade Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2008 08:43 PM
RAID Help camhabib New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-31-2008 06:48 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.