Raid 0 help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Old 04-17-2007, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Default Raid 0 help.

I have been using my computer for the last 6 months, and my drive is mostly full, so I've wanted to expand my drive space aswell as gain a boost to performance. I just ordered my second SATA II 250gb drive (identical to my current drive) to set up a raid 0 array.

How would I go about setting up the array since I already have everything installed? Would I need to format my drive and reinstall windows? I have an external HD that I can back everything to, so if that is required, its not a problem. Can someone layout the steps I need to take to accomplish this?

I've been doing a bit of reading, and most guides require a floppy drive. I currently don't have one, and don't have an empty 3.5" slot for one either. Is it possible to do this without a floppy (using a flash/cd drive).

Please visit my new Photography forum:
Old 04-17-2007, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: Raid 0 help.

great question. I was wondering the same thing.

My puter:
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
Old 04-17-2007, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Default Re: Raid 0 help.