Radeon HD 6850 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2012, 02:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default Radeon HD 6850

So I am trying to run 4 monitors. I purchased the HD Radeon 6850. Kid at frys electronics said it would work for four monitors with a couple ACTIVE mDP (mini displayport) adapters. he forgot to mention the active part. In any matter. I can only get 3 monitors to work. Can someone clear this up for me? I have been reading all over the place about yes and no on the 4 monitors and this graphics card.

If it can do 4, how do i make this dual mDP and dual DVI setup work? I have two active mDP to DVI adapters on hand. They have both been test independently as well as all the monitors.

Plus anyone know why I have a red line on the side of a couple of my monitors with these adapters?

Thanks for your help on these all. I really appreciate it.
__________________

neeko13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 07:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Radeon HD 6850

Quote:
Kid at frys electronics said it would work
for posterity
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Radeon HD 6850

why would they put to 2 dvis and 2 display ports if only 3 monitors will work?
neeko13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Radeon HD 6850

it might work with those active display port adapters, but it seems iffy. it has 1 hdmi and 1 display port. the hdmi shares a channel with one of the dvis. so you would get 3 with just a single monitor to each without adapters. p sure eyefinity only goes to 3 monitors.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
450W PSU + 6850 NEED HELP! x Fragger System Upgrades 1 03-06-2012 08:36 AM
Getting Radeon HD 6850... But I only have VGA Monitor! (ADAPTER?) TheRoo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-23-2012 07:21 PM
Ocing 6850 David21 Overclocking and Modding 1 08-28-2011 02:58 PM
upgrading 6850 MyGodAL3X New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-04-2011 11:20 AM
Radeon HD 6850 Digimortal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-12-2011 06:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.