Radeon or geForce - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 09:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
You know how you're supposed to stop overclocking when a card or processor gets too hot? Well, the X1800XT comes "too hot" at stock.
This is a false statement. You stop overclocking when you get to the highest speed without artifacts, and in the case of the X1800XT, it's pretty high. You don't even know the maximum safe temperature for the X1800XT. For my 7800GT, it's 115c. The 256mb 7800gtx and 512mb x1800xt are pretty much on par, except the X1800XT has a few features that the GTX dosn't, like you can use HDR with AA, it has AVIVO (video de-blocking), hardware h.264 decode, and it's 90nm. And as it was stated earlier, the X1800XT makes up for it's lack of pipelines in clock speeds, and it overclocks very well to boot.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

If get ATI Radeon X1800XT 512

can I get two of them on one mobo?
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the X1800 and the 256MB 7800 GTX are about equal. they perform better in their own areas.
however the 256MB 7800 GTX is cheaper
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kdar
If get ATI Radeon X1800XT 512

can I get two of them on one mobo?
Yes if you get a crossfire motherboard. Like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136165
And you also need to get the X1800 crossfire master card (you only need one -- the other can be whichever one you like):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102655
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

Ok cool thks. But do I need to get two cards at ones or I can use one for now and add other one later?
Kdar is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
This is a false statement. You stop overclocking when you get to the highest speed without artifacts, and in the case of the X1800XT, it's pretty high. You don't even know the maximum safe temperature for the X1800XT. For my 7800GT, it's 115c.
There are three things that stop you from overclocking any further; Too hot, too much voltage, or at the limit. Whichever comes first. In the case of the X1800XT, the "too hot" always comes first. I don't know about you, but I don't want my videocard running 105¬įC...
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 10:26 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

eVGA Geforce 7800GTX Black pearl pls
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 11:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kdar
Ok cool thks. But do I need to get two cards at ones or I can use one for now and add other one later?
Yeah but I would recommend going the SLI track and take the GTX's.

Either way, you wont need two of either for a while.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

« Gaming PC | Ddr2 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.