Radeon 3870 Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2007, 05:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Radeon 3870 Question

I would really prefer an 8800GT..,....but the 3870 beats it by quite a lot at memory bandwidth due to the clockability of GDDR4...and the 8800GT doesnt support software voltmodding past 1.1vgpu

I just wanted to know if anyone can confirm that the 3870 supports software voltage control through tools like atiTool?

The 8800GT beats the 3870, but I will have the GPU under water and would love to push the voltage up and overclock but would rather not do any hardmods to it.

The 8800gt vgpu can only be raised from 1.05 to 1.1v through software...which only seems ot net a max clock of around 750-780mhz. I understand that clocks aren't everything but with the 3870 at 1+ghz and the MUCH higher memory bandwidth I would think it would outperfrom a 8800GT and cost less.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 06:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

Considering that the 3870 can be up to 22% slower than an 8800GT, I wouldn't understand why you'd want to deal with the headache of a double slot solution and extensive overclocking, which would void your warranty since it's an ATI card, to possibly get on par performance with a stock 8800GT. Plus, they are the same price I believe or the 3870 costs a little more..

I'd consider it once some new drivers come out. ATI's known for crap initial drivers, takes them time to optimize them, but it's not always guaranteed.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 07:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

Well either way it will be under water pumped with vcore.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

I'd wait out on the 8800GTS G92 Revision, December 3rd, confirmed date, my friend
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwürdigliebe View Post
I'd wait out on the 8800GTS G92 Revision, December 3rd, confirmed date, my friend
expensive. Don't want to be spending 200+ quid on a 3d card. Especially as I only run 1440x900 resolution
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

Do you already have that water cooler? I mean if you don't, just put the money towards a better video card, ie, the GTS G92

If you do, then I'd wait for better ATI drivers and maybe some overclocking results. If the drivers get better enough to almost match a GT and it overclocks better than the GT, and of course, if it gets a little cheaper, then the 3870 can be a winner, with the only drawback being the two slot solution

Otherwise, the GT is your man.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

Yes I already have my X1900GT under water....managed to get to 800mhz from 580 as well...not bad but i still want a better card
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

1 day before my bday the rev. comes out lol

hmm, specs of the revision, I'm still way behind on everything.

Just give it some time, you know ATI and their drivers
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

Yes, I'll need a few weeks to round up some money anyway. Hard drive failed and now I'm 50 quid in the hole!

first time I've ever had a HD fail on me! my trusty seagate 7200.10!! WTF!!
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 04:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Radeon 3870 Question

I think i got this right, ATI's design uses many shaders but at slower speeds while nvdia uses less shaders but faster shaders. ATI's performance will fully relay on optimized drivers to use more shaders, if it doesn't then half of its shaders are left to waste.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon HD 3850, 3870 Specs Leaked Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-06-2007 11:03 AM
RV670 is Radeon HD 3800 Series mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 37 10-20-2007 01:55 PM
Free Steam Games For Radeon Owners Osiris PC Gaming 1 05-30-2007 07:16 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Radeon HD 2900XT Info Leaked Osiris Overclocking and Modding 13 05-06-2007 04:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.