r700 goes multi-cored - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 11:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

well josh just gave me an idea. look at the 7950gx2. one of the best. even beats the 8800gts in some cases. 2 7900gtxs smushed together. this is the same logic here, maybe instead of one core 3900xt, we'll have twice the power, because dx 10.1 or "11" optimizes multiple cores. just like how some applications now are optimized for both single, and multiple cored cpus.
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phanto View Post
This is ridiculous why they don't focus on their cards right now in making them better because quite frankly thats what it need to be done, stop looking too much in the future.
correct, they should focus on this guy, cuz their processors don't need much work after this month ends........ and June begins (or is it July) and Khan, dude its just their Vista drivers that stink, along with the r600's.... but it isnt a complete failure if until nobody buys it, give em' a month, they can come up with better drivers...... i hope...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
well josh just gave me an idea. look at the 7950gx2. one of the best. even beats the 8800gts in some cases. 2 7900gtxs smushed together. this is the same logic here, maybe instead of one core 3900xt, we'll have twice the power, because dx 10.1 or "11" optimizes multiple cores. just like how some applications now are optimized for both single, and multiple cored cpus.
preciesly. GPUs will go the same way as CPUs eventually. Manufacturers have discovered that it is better to make more cores rather than higher clocks, due to the very much "multitasking" use of PCs these days. rendering can be split into lots of small chunks, which can be rendered by multiple GPUs.
joshd is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshd View Post
preciesly. GPUs will go the same way as CPUs eventually. Manufacturers have discovered that it is better to make more cores rather than higher clocks, due to the very much "multitasking" use of PCs these days. rendering can be split into lots of small chunks, which can be rendered by multiple GPUs.
yea, sort of let the cores work how raid does. split it up between different cores, or you can just have the vertex under one core, textures under another, shaders on another, memory controller and all those extras on another.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

wow psp_crazy1 and joshd, i like the logic from ur response, thats 100% true, i get it too
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
wow psp_crazy1 and joshd, i like the logic from ur response, thats 100% true, i get it too
wow im surprised. i can barely understand what i write, i mean how i word it.

just is win xp/ vista going to recgonize the multi core gpus as 2 cards, when its only 2 cores, one gfc card...

i really don't get how the 2900xt isn't doing good. its the drivers, it has to be, because the architecture looks good, everything does. but lets hope that this multicore works out, since it isn't the cpu, it only processes graphic related tasks, not everything like the cpu.


and 4 cores sounds like enough. thats like quad crossfire, and quad sli with the 7950gx2 is just completely incredible.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:34 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: r700 goes multi-cored

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
just is win xp/ vista going to recgonize the multi core gpus as 2 cards, when its only 2 cores, one gfc card...
provided the driver support it there, it will work just fine.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.